Provost Awards of Excellence

- Outstanding Academic Advisor Award Nominations

Nominations are being accepted for the annual Outstanding Academic Advisor Award.


Full- or part-time faculty members or academic support personnel responsible for the academic advising of undergraduate students and assigned a caseload of academic advisees. The period of service covered by the award is Fall Semester 2013 through Spring Semester 2014. It is expected that nominees will be employed at WIU during the 2014-2015 academic year.


Nominations will be accepted from students, peers, supervisors, or through self-nomination. The nominating letter should document excellence in two or more of the following categories:

  • Service to students as an advisor
  • Student perceptions of advisor's abilities based on evaluations
  • Size, composition, and effective management of caseload with emphasis on qualitative management
  • Knowledge of advising principles and University rules and regulations
  • Meeting student needs beyond the expectations of the position


Nominations should be submitted to the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research, 637 Malpass Library. Each nomination letter should describe the nominator's perception of the advisor's effectiveness. The nomination must be accompanied by a minimum of two and a maximum of five letters of support secured by the nominator. All support letters should be collected by the nominator and submitted at one time to the CITR office. CITR will not be responsible for the assembly of packets. Letters of support from students are particularly encouraged. If the nominator is not the department chair or supervisor of the nominee, the nominator should ask the chair or supervisor to submit in writing his/her perceptions of the advisor's effectiveness.


The recipient will receive a $250 cash award from the Office of the Provost and $250 in line item expenditures and a plaque from the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research. Selection will be made by the Outstanding Academic Advisor Award Committee: the Director of the Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research (chair), previous year's recipient, a representative of the Faculty Senate, and a representative of the Council of Academic Advisors. Every college is encouraged to submit a candidate for this award.

Deadline for Nominations: April 11, 2014