Assessment, Accreditation and Strategic Planning


Western Illinois University is responsible for assuring the quality of all educational offerings at the institution. Our standards and processes ensure a quality education for every student at WIU. Western Illinois University was first accredited in 1913, and accreditation has been continuous since then. The most recent re-accreditation was in 2011.

Reaffirmation of Accreditation

WIU is entering Year 10 of its accreditation cycle and requires a “reaffirmation of accreditation.” To obtain this, the University will submit an “assurance argument” by January 2021 and receive a physical/virtual visit from representatives of the Higher Learning Commission (HLC) in April 2021.

A University’s assurance argument details how the institution meets HLC’s Criteria for Accreditation. In 2015, the Social Responsibility Task Force was formed and discussed various aspects of accreditation and began compiling supporting evidence and drafting documents for the HLC assurance argument and 2021 accreditation visit. The group was composed of over 75 individuals representing various areas of the university and region.

In Spring 2020 an assurance argument writing team was formed. This team drafted the assurance argument, attended workshops sponsored by HLC, created the necessary webpages for the accreditation review. We are now in the midst of finalizing the assurance argument. In December 2020 the final draft of the assurance argument for HLC accreditation will be shared with the WIU Board of Trustees.

The accreditation process and additional information can be found on the Assurance Argument page

Accreditation Team Visit - March 26, 2021


HLC Team
  • Dr. Karen L Schmid - Chair
    Professor (retired), Purdue University Northwest
  • Dr. C. Jason Kegler
    Assistant Vice President for Student Life, Pittsburg State University
  • Dr. Bleuzwtte Marshall
    Vice President for Equity, Inclusion & Community Impact, University of Cincinnati
  • Dr. Michael D. Thompson - On-Campus Reviewer
    Associate Vice President for Institutional Research, Illinois Wesleyan University
  • Dr. Jeff W. Robertson
    Dean, College of Natural & Health Sciences, Arkansas Tech University
  • Dr. Becky Takeda-Tinker
    Chief Education Innovation Officer, Colorado State University System
  • Dr. Olukemi Iyabode Fadayomi
    Special Advisor to the Provost for Graduate Studies, Farris State University