To: Members of the Western Illinois University Board of Trustees

Bill Epperly, Chair Carolyn Ehlert Fuller

Lyneir Cole Phil Hare
Bill Griffin Mike Houston
Cathy Early Jonathan McGee

From: Joe Rives, Vice President, Quad Cities and Planning

Date: September 26, 2012

Re: September 2012 Strategic Plan Update

This month's Strategic Plan Update describes two newly formed planning teams for Western Illinois University. The teams will begin their work shortly, and future updates will keep you apprised of their progress and meeting schedules.

The first team will address the new accreditation criteria (described in your August 2012 Strategic Plan Update) from the Higher Learning Commission-North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. As charged by the President's Leadership Team, the Accreditation Review Team will review the criteria, identify sources of evidence, and ensure that it is in the format required by the Commission.

The second team as recommended by Trustee Ehlert Fuller will follow a model prepared by the Association of Governing Boards to evaluate 20-year trends in higher education (current and projected) to determine which may affect Western Illinois University and if *Higher Values in Higher Education* has successfully prepared the University to address these trends. A final report of the Long Term Planning Team will be presented to President Thomas and the Board of Trustees.

Membership on each of the new planning teams is displayed at the end of this *Update*. Should you wish to engage with these planning teams, and/or if you have feedback for the continued successful advancement of Higher Values in Higher Education, please contact me.

President Thomas Associate Provost Neumann cc: CSEC Pres. Rupert Provost Hawkinson COAP President Grimm Associate Provost Parsons Vice President Bainter Faculty Council Chair Pillutla Assistant Vice President Williams Vice President Biller Faculty Senate Chair Rock Planning, Budget, and IR Staff Vice President DeWees SGA Chair Markey President's Office Support Staff

## Accreditation Review Team

Joe Rives, Vice President, Quad Cities and Planning, Chair Pam Bowman, Director, Human Resources Ann Comerford, Director, University Union Lindsay Fender, Assistant to the Vice President, Quad Cities and Planning Kerry Lemaster, Business Administrative Associate, President's Office Julie Murphy, Director, Foundation Communications/Donor Stewardship Nancy Parsons, Associate Provost

## Long Term Planning Team

Joe Rives, Vice President, Quad Cities and Planning/Chair

Brad Bainter, Vice President, Advancement and Public Services

John Biernbaum, Associate Vice President, Student Services

Gary Biller, Vice President, Student Services

Andy Borst, Director, Undergraduate Admissions

Pam Bowman, Director, Human Resources

Felix Chu, Associate Dean, University Libraries

Kathleen Clauson, Library Operations Associate/Civil Service Employees Council Representative

Billy Clow, Dean, College of Fine Arts and Communication

Julie DeWees, Vice President, Administrative Services

Tom Erekson, Dean, College of Business and Technology)

Everett Hamner, Assistant Professor, English and Journalism

Jeff Hanks, Associate Professor, University Libraries

Teri Hare, Director University Scholarship Activities/Council of Administrative Personnel Representative

Ken Hawkinson, Provost and Academic Vice President

Robert Hironimus-Wendt, Associate Professor, Sociology and Anthropology

Fred Isele, Associate Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

Gregg Jorgensen, Assistant Professor, Curriculum and Instruction

Brian Locke, Associate Professor, Music/Chair, Graduate Council

Chuck Lydeard, Chairperson, Biological Sciences

Sue Martinelli Fernandez, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Don McLean, Professor, Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration

Kristi Mindrup, Assistant Vice President, Quad Cities and Planning

Mark Mossman, Chairperson, English and Journalism

Padmaja Pillutla, Associate Professor, Accountancy and Finance/Chair, Quad Cities Faculty Council

Steve Rock, Professor, Economics and Decision Sciences/Chair, Faculty Senate

Bill Rupert, Deputy Director, Human Resources/President, Civil Service Employees Council

Sterling Saddler, Dean, College of Education and Human Services

Phyllis Self, Dean, University Libraries

Rayvon Shelton, Journalism Major/Vice President Macomb Student Government Association

Bill Thompson, Associate Professor, University Libraries

Tammy Werner, Assistant Professor, Sociology and Anthropology

Michael Woolever, President, Quad Cities Student Government Association