African American Studies

Faculty and Staff

Department Chair


F. Erik Brooks, Ph.D.Erik Brooks
(Virginia Commonwealth University)

Office: Morgan 232
Phone: (309) 298-1181
E-Mail: FE-Brooks@wiu.edu

 

 

Faculty

BoukariSafoura Boukari, Ph.D., (SUNY Buffalo)
Associate Professor

Office: Morgan 205B
Phone: (309) 298-2074
Email: AS-Boukari@wiu.edu
Website: Dr. Boukari


MorganJo-Ann Morgan, Ph.D., (UCLA)
Professor
African American Studies and Art

Office: Morgan 232B
Phone: (309) 298-2298
Email: J-Morgan@wiu.edu
Website: Dr. Morgan

 

SimpsonAlphonso Simpson, Jr., Ph.D., (Wyoming)Simpson
Professor

Office: Morgan 232C
Phone: (309) 298-1181
Email: A-Simpson@wiu.edu
Website: Dr. Simpson

 

WatkinsAudrey Watkins, Ph.D., (UI at Chicago)Watkins
Professor

Office: Morgan 205D
Phone: (309) 298-2146
Email: AP-Watkins@wiu.edu
Website: Dr. Watkins

 

HunterHunter, Sharon, D.Min/MLAS  
Instructor

Office: Morgan 232D
Phone: (309)298-2483
Email:  SL-Hunter2@wiu.edu

 

Department Staff

Fran Hainline, Office Manager
Office: Morgan 232
Phone: (309) 298-1181
Email: FC-Hainline@wiu.edu

Caryn Morgan, Academic Advisor
African American Studies; Foreign Languages and Literatures; Mathematics; Philosophy and Religious Studies; Women's Studies
Office: Morgan 203B
Phone: (309) 298-1610
Email: CN-Morgan@wiu.edu

 

Associated Faculty

Asare, Edmund, Ph.D., Assistant Professor
Department: Foreign Languages and Literatures & African American Studies
Office: Morgan 305
Phone: (309)298-1496
Email: E-Asare@wiu.edu

 

Bracey, W. Earl, J.D.bracey
Associate Vice President, Student Services
Office: University Union Administrative Office
Phone: (309)298-1900
Email: WE-Bracey@wiu.edu

 

Cole, Peter, Ph.D., Professor
Department: History
Office: Morgan 232C
Phone: (309)298-3691
Email: P-Cole@wiu.edu

 

Gebrewold, Fetene, Ph.D., Professorgebrewold
Department: Health Sciences
Office: Stipes 402
Phone: (309)298-1736
Email: F-Gebrewold@wiu.edu  

 

Greene, Raymond, Ph.D., Associate Professor
Department: Geography
Office: Tillman 306A
Phone: (309)298-3062
Email: R-Greene@wiu.edu

 

Lee, Jongho, Ph.D., Professor
Department: Political Science
Office: Morgan 430
Phone: (309)298-2404
Email: J-Lee6@wiu.edu



Oden, Lorette S., Ph.D., Chair and ProfessorOden
Department: Health Sciences
Office: Stipes 402
Phone: (309)298-1698
Email: LS-Oden@wiu.edu 

 

Ogbaharya, Daniel G., Ph.D., Assistant ProfessorOgbaharya
Department: Political Science
Office: Morgan 411B
Phone: (309)298-1349
Email: DG-Ogbaharya@wiu.edu

Strother-Adams, Pearlie M., Professor
Department: English and Journalism
Office: Simpkins 226J
Phone: (309)298-1425
Email: P-Strother-Adams@wiu.edu

 

Thompson, Samuel, Ph.D., Professor and ChairThompson
Department: Geography
Office: Tillman 312A
Phone: (309)298-1648
Email: S-Thompson@wiu.edu

 

Warner, Oswald S., Ph.D., Associate ProfessorWarner
Department: Sociology and Anthropology
Office: Morgan 403
Phone: (309)298-1171
Email: OS-Warner@wiu.edu

 

Williams, Ronald, Ph.D.Williams
Assistant Vice President
Department: Provost and Academic Vice President
Office: Sherman 205
Phone: (309)298-1066
Email: RC-Williams@wiu.edu
Website: Dr. Williams

 

Young, Patricia A., Ph.D., Professor
Department: English and Journalism
Office: Simpkins 016
Phone: (309)298-1482
Email: P-Young1@wiu.edu