College of Arts and Sciences

Creative Writing Awards 2016

We are proud to announce the recipients of the 2016 Cordell Larner Award in Fiction or Poetry, and the Lois C. Burner Award in Creative Nonfiction. The submissions were very competitive, and we regret having so few awards to give. Thank you for your submissions, and congratulations to all the recipients!

Lois C. Bruner Creative Nonfiction Award

#1 by Justin Kim’s “Porcelain Pieces
#2 Alyson Eagon’s “Piece by Piece or All at Once
#3 Jared Worley’s “Fortunate Son

Cordell Larner Award in Fiction

#1 by Kateline Deushane’s “Solitude
#2 by Joceyln James’ “Say. . . Love
#3 by Jon Naskrent’s “Lorelei

Cordell Larner Award in Poetry

#1 Jon Naskrent’s “Home“, “There no place for us“, “Not good enough
#2 Jocelyn James’ “Church“, “Lionell Richie Type of Fools“, “Easy
#3 Katherine Garon’s “Graveyard“, “Across the water

Awards Archive