College of Arts and Sciences

English Awards Night 2009 Spring 2009 Awards & Scholarships

We have announced the winners of 2009 awards and scholarships for the department, the journalism program, the graduate program in English, and the Leland Essay Contest. 

Congratulations to all the award and scholarship winners!

« Go back to Awards & Scholarships or Creative Writing Awards

Department Awards & Scholarships

  • Scholar of the Year Award - Glenna Sabo
  • Dameris Bagwell Memorial Scholarship - Sarah Zavala
  • Beth M. Stiffler Memorial Scholarship - Kristin Dragos
  • Dr. Paul Blackford British Literature Scholarship - Quinn Bilyeu, Tiffany Shoufler
  • Dr. Olive Fite American Literature Scholarship - Jeri Adams
  • Dr. Irving Garwood Scholarship - Rebecca Eineke
  • Lila S. Linder English Scholarships - Eric Anerino, Kathleen McGowan
  • Alfred J. Lindsey Memorial Scholarship - Rebecca Eineke
  • John Merrett Scholarship in British Literature - Caitlin Barrett
  • Nai-Tung Ting English Scholarship - Nan Norcross
  • Wanninger Foundation Scholarship - Julia Mackert

Journalism Awards

Best In-Class Writing in Journalism

Best In-Class Graphics Work in Journalism

Graduate Program Awards & Fellowships

  • Syndy M. Conger Essay Award - Emily Brackman
  • Ron and Leslie Walker Writing Studies - Michael Baumann
  • Ron and Leslie Walker Literary Studies - Travis Moran
  • John Mahoney Research Fellowship - Andrew Hoogheem, Travis Moran, Tracey Winbigler

Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

*Read their pieces on the Leland Webpage (2008-2009)

Eng 100, Introduction to Writing

  • First place: Alex J. Crivolio
  • Second place: Donovan Lowry
  • Third place: Madeline Swanson

Eng 180, College Writing I

  • First place: Tyler A. Gordon
  • Second place: Jackson Courter
  • Third place: William Steele

Eng 280, College Writing II

Creative Writing Awards

*Read their pieces in the yearly Elements edition (2009)

The Lois C. Bruner Literary Nonfiction Award

  • First place:
  • Second place:
  • Third place:

The Cordell Larner Awards in Fiction

  • First place:
  • Second place:
  • Third place:

The Cordell Larner Awards in Poetry

  • First place:
  • Second place:
  • Third place: