College of Arts and Sciences

Spring 2018 Awards & Scholarships

The Department of English held its 2018 Awards Night on Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 6:00pm in the University Union Lamoine Room. Selected faculty announced the winners of awards from all areas of the program. 

Congratulations to all the award and scholarship winners! Click on each name to see a picture of each student receiving his/her award!

Awards Program Handout 2018 (pdf)

« Go back to Awards & Scholarships or Creative Writing Awards

Undergraduate Scholarships

Graduate Awards

Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

*Read their pieces on the Leland Webpage (2017-2018)

ENG 100, Introduction to Writing

  • 1st place – Judson Henry
  • 2nd place – Jeresha Davenport
  • 3rd place – Asya Morrison

ENG 180, College Writing I

  • 1st place – Kaleb Wadsworth
  • 2nd place – Andrea Przybylski
  • 3rd place – Kelli Thompson

ENG 280, College Writing II

Creative Writing Awards

*Read their pieces in the yearly Elements edition (2018)

*See the Creative Writing Winners Archive which includes commentary by the professional judges.

Lois C. Bruner Creative Nonfiction Award

Cordell Larner Award in Fiction

Cordell Larner Award in Poetry