Top Navigation

Side Navigation

Spring 2008 News & Events

Our Spring 2008 newsletter is ready (link is PDF).

Congratulations to Lami Adama, Annie Schnarr, and Emily Brackmann, who have been selected by the School of Graduate Studies to receive assistance from the Graduate Student Research and Professional Development Fund. Each student will receive $500.00 to use towards the funding of travel to professional conferences (from Utah to Italy) to present papers.

Course descriptions

Descriptions for both Summer 2008 courses and Fall 2008 courses have been posted. Links are PDFs.


Archives

  • Sun May 11: Quad Cities commencement.
  • Sat May 10: Undergraduate commencement.
  • Fri May 9: Graduate commencement.
  • May 7: End of year potluck, 11:00am-1:00pm, Simpkins
  • May 6: Thesis colloquium, 4:00pm, University Writing Center.
  • May 5-9: Final exam week.
  • May 2: Film student Mike Durin screening, 7:30pm, Simpkins 027.
  • Mon Apr 21: Faculty meeting, 12:00pm, Simpkins 027.
  • Mon Apr 21: Awards Night, 6:00pm, Simpkins 341.
  • Wed Apr 16: Eula Cordell Larner Writing Award submissions due.
  • Tue Apr 15: Mahoney Fellowship applications due.
  • Mon Apr 14: Creative Writing Festival featuring poet John Bradley.
  • Wed Apr 9: Thesis Q&A, 4:00 pm, University Writing Center.
  • Wed Apr 2 & Thu Apr 3: NCTE Booksale, first floor, Simpkins Hall.
  • Wed Mar 31: Rock ‘em Sock ‘em Journalism, Hank Bordowitz & Stan Hyman, 3:00pm, UU Sandburg Theatre.
  • Wed Mar 26: Filmmaker Tracey Deer, 1:00pm, Malpass Library 180.
  • Wed Mar 19: NCTE meeting, 4:00pm, Simpkins 025.
  • Mar 10-14: Spring Break; no classes.
  • Mar 17-19: Fred Ewing Case and Lola Austin Case Visiting Writer, Rick Bass
    • Tue Mar 18: Question and answer session, 4:00pm, 027 Simpkins Hall.
    • Wed Mar 19: Fiction reading, 7:30pm, WIU Art Gallery. Reception to follow.
  • Mar 10-14: Spring Break; no classes.
  • Mar 7: Candidate for Humanities position in Quad Cities, noon, Simpkins 014.
  • Mar 5: Book fair with Allyn & Bacon, Longman, and Prentice Hall Representative, Sarah Stickelmaier, 1:00-3:00, Simpkins 025. Food will be served.
  • Thu Feb 28: Third American Fiction Candidate
    • 8:15-9:15: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 3:30-4:30: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Feb 28: Deadlines for submissions for Elements.
  • Tue Feb 19: Second American Fiction Candidate
    • 8:15-9:15: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 3:30-4:30: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Wed Feb 20: Third Writing Candidate
    • Open meeting, TBA.
    • Research Presentation, TBA.
  • Wed Feb 20: Graduate Faculty Meeting, 12:00 noon, Simpkins 014.
  • Thu Feb 14: Second American Fiction Candidate
    • 8:15-9:15: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 3:30-4:30: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Tue Feb 12: Lincoln’s Birthday; university closed.
  • Mon Feb 11: Second Writing Candidate
    • 10:00-11:00: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 2:00-3:00: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Web Feb 6: English Ed Portfolio Orientation, 4:00pm, Simpkins 321.
  • Tue Feb 5: English Ed Portfolio Orientation, 4:00pm, Simpkins 321.
  • Tue Feb 5: Professional Development Seminar: Applying to Graduate Programs. Dr. Chris Morrow. 5:30pm, Simpkins 020.
  • Fri Feb 1: Third English Education Candidate
    • 2:00-2:50: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
    • 3:45-4:45: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
  • Thu Jan 31: First Writing Candidate
    • 1:00-2:00: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 3:30-4:30: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Wed Jan 30: Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), 4:00pm, Simpkins 114.
  • Wed Jan 30: Graduate Faculty Meeting, 12:00 noon, Simpkins 014.
  • Tue Jan 29: Professional Development Seminar: CV/Résumé Workshop. Dr. Joan Livingston-Webber. 5:30pm, Simpkins 020.
  • Mon Jan 28: Second English Education Candidate
    • 10:00-10:45: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 3:00-3:50: Research Presentation, Simpkins 214.
  • Fri Jan 25: First English Education Candidate
    • 10:00-10:45: Open meeting, Simpkins 308.
    • 2:00-2:50: Research Presentation, Simpkins 027.
  • Wed Jan 23: Graduate Faculty Meeting, 12:00 noon, Simpkins 014.
  • Tue Jan 22: Professional Development Seminar: Preparing the Résumé and Job Letter. Guest Speaker: Martin Kral, Career Services. 5:30pm, Simpkins 020.
  • Mon Jan 21: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, University Closed.
  • Mon Jan 14: Classes begin.