Abby Lagemann Awarded Dykstra Scholarship for History Graduate Studies

May 4, 2009

Abby Lagemann, a graduating senior History major from Pittsfield who has been admitted to graduate History program starting in the Fall, has been awarded the History Department's Darrell and Virginia Dykstra Scholarship for 2009-2011 by the History Department's Graduate Committee, Dr. Virginia Jelatis, Director of Graduate Studies for the History Department, announced. As the Department's Dykstra Scholar, Ms. Lagemann, who will graduate Magna Cum Laude with her B.A. in History Teacher Certification in May, will be honored at the reception prior to WIU's Annual History Conference at the home of WIU President Alvin Goldfarb.

Ms. Lagemann currently holds one of the Department's Emily Leonard Scholarships as well as one of the Department's three Cliff and Susan Haka History Student Opportunity Awards, and the Centennial Honors College's Senior Honors Scholarship. She has also won a College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) SCAI (Summer Undergraduate Research) Award (the only one in the History Department) and two of CAS's presitigious Norman and Carmelita Teeter Research Awards (given to the most outstanding undergraduate researchers in the College). Last semester, Ms. Lagemann, an Honors Scholar, completed her honors thesis, "'Animated to Doe Further Mischeefs': Crime and Punishment in Early Modern England, 1558-1635," with Dr. Jennifer McNabb.

In addition to her outstanding academic record, Ms. Lagemann is President of the Department's Associated Students of History (ASH), which has been selected by the College of Arts and Sciences as this year's Outstanding Student Organization. Ms. Lagemann's contributions to the History Department also include regular efforts to recruit additional students to Western; she has participated in each Discover Western new student recruitment program for the past year. In recognition of her many contributions to the Department as a scholar and as a departmental citizen, Ms. Lagemann was awarded the inaugural Department Citizen-Scholar Award by Dr. Virginia Boynton, History Department Chair, this semester.

More History Department News