Department of Mathematics and Philosophy

We are happy to announce the return of our conference!

69th Annual Western Illinois University Mathematics Teachers' Conference

  Common Core Mathematics:  Developing Student Reasoning

Friday, April 14, 2023 - 8:30 a.m. - 2:50 p.m.

(Check-In/Registration and Breakfast is 8:00-8:30 a.m.)

Keynote Speakers

We are pleased to announce that Dr. Trena Wilkerson will be our opening speaker for the conference.  Dr. Wilkerson recently served as president of NCTM (National Council of Teachers of Mathematics) from 2022-2022 and is currently serving as past president.

More details on her presentation will be forthcoming.


The 2023 Conference schedule will be posted here when it is available.


Participants can park in the Horrabin Hall lot (# 19 on the attached map, for faculty/staff). Parking Services know that you will be coming to the conference that day. They said that it's fine; they won't be ticketing. If you arrive and the Horrabin Hall lot is full, you can try the Currens Hall lot (# 20 on the map; parking map link at the left).

Professional Development Hours

Teachers sign the sign-in sheet at the registration table. Following the conference, go to the following link: to be determined and complete the online form. Detailed instructions. (The link is also in the folder.) You earn 6 PD hours for attending this conference.

Call for Speakers

We are accepting proposals for 2023, please consider filling out the submission form.
Breakout sessions are 35 minutes. Do you have ideas for teaching math that you would like to share?

Online Speaker Submission Form   //   Print Speaker Submission Form.

Registration - coming

Online Registration Form   //   Print (PDF) Registration Form

Mail payment to Western Illinois University, 1 University Circle, Department of Math & Philosophy, Macomb, IL 61455.

If you have questions, call (309)298-1054. (We do take walk-ins for this conference, but we prefer that attendees register in advance.)

Past Conferences

2019 Conference

2018 Conference

2017 Conference

2016 Conference

2015 Conference

2014 Conference

2013 Conference

2012 Conference

2011 Conference

2010 Conference

Save Save Save Save Save Save Save Save Save Save