Sociology & Anthropology


Deadline: 14 th December, 2012

 The Department of Sociology and Anthropology is seeking to fill a number of Teaching Support Assistant and Graduate Assistant positions for the Spring 2013 semester. All positions are contingent upon availability of funds. All assistantships carry a stipend and tuition waiver for the semester. The waiver does not include insurance costs or student fees. See for current stipend amounts, policies, procedures, and additional information.

Applicants must be in the graduate program in Sociology.

Graduate assistants are an integral part of the intellectual community at Western Illinois University. The purpose of graduate education is to develop scholars and professionals equipped with the knowledge and skills to succeed in Sociology. By working under the supervision of faculty, graduate assistants gain invaluable experience and insight into the profession.

Graduate assistantships are academic, merit-based awards that recognize outstanding achievement and provide financial support to students pursuing their degrees . Both the university and the student benefit from the assistantship. The student receives professional experience and financial support, while the university and department gain a student assistant dedicated to advancing its mission.  

 About the Positions

  • Teaching Support Assistant (TSA) - A Teaching Support Assistant provides assistance/support to academic course instructors. Teaching Support Assistants’ primary (i.e., greater than 50%) duties consist of one or more of the following types of activities: taking attendance, proctoring exams/quizzes, grading, developing academic instructional materials, tutoring, facilitating review/study sessions, and other instructional support services.
  •   Research Assistant (RA ) - A Research Assistant is assigned to faculty members to assist with their research. Research Assistants’ primary duties (i.e., greater than 50%) consist of one or more of the following types of activities: conducting experiments, collecting or analyzing data, collaborating in preparing publications, library research, and other research activities, and familiarity with or desire to learn data analysis and file management in VM computing environments. This position is funded through a grant from the Department of Children and Family Services (DCFS).

All applicants must have a familiarity with statistical analysis programs (e.g., SPSS) and skilled use of the Microsoft Office suite of programs.

Application Process

An Application for Assistantship (available from the School of Graduate Studies or at ) must be submitted along with:

  1. three recent letters of recommendation
  2. a statement of personal goals addressing your qualifications and skills for a position  

  All materials must be submitted by 14 th December, 2012. Incomplete applications will not be reviewed.


study abroad

Program Overview

Anthropologists conduct fieldwork in many settings, from small, isolated villages to towns and cities in western cultures. Germany is an excellent anthropological site because it is culturally different from the US but yet familiar in many of its customs and practices. In order to have a true anthropological experience and not just be a tourist, you have to get to know the culture and the people.

This Study Abroad Course will take place in two northern cities, Celle and Berlin, and will focus on environmental and cultural sustainability. Founded over 700 years ago, Celle offers a mixture of history, tradition, and modernity. Utilizing the high speed rail system, you’ll then travel to Berlin to tour the ethnically diverse neighborhoods of the former East Berlin, visit the UNESCO World Heritage Centre and explore how the cultural, environmental, political, and economic factors influence how Germans live today.

study abroad

study abroad

Course Information

Course offered: ANTH 379/679
On-campus sessions: Two sessions are required. Dates/times TBA.
You are also required to attend a pre-departure orientation session conducted by the Office of Study Abroad. Class participation, including contribution to discussions and attendance, is expected in all phases of the Course.
Questions about the course content should be
directed to Dr. Heather McIlvaine-Newsad.

Contact Information

Academic Information

Dr. Heather McIlvaine-Newsad
408 Morgan Hall
Phone: 298-1264

Study Abroad

Kim McDaniel
344 Memorial Hall
Phone: 298-2504

Sponsored by the Center for International Studies and the Department of Sociology and Anthropology.