Top Navigation

Side Navigation

Undergraduate Research Day1

Thomas E. Helm Undergraduate Research Day
University Union

University Union Map

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

9:30am-11:00am - Performance Presentations - Prairie Lounge
11:00am-1:30pm - Poster Presentations - Grand Ballroom
1:00-3:00pmPodium Presentations - See individual room schedules below

3:00pm - Keynote Speaker - Anne Millen - Prairie Lounge
3:30pm - Award Announcements and Closing - Prairie Lounge


The Undergraduate Research Day provides a public, university-wide forum for undergraduate research, scholarship and creative activity. Students from all academic disciplines are encouraged to submit their faculty mentored research, scholarship, or creative activity. Submissions may be either completed or in-progress.

Participants must submit an abstract and submission form between March 17 - April 4, 2014. By submitting abstracts, all presenters acknowledge that they have read and accepted the Guidelines for Participation and that research meets protocol for human, animal, and radiological research. All presenters also permit the release of photographs taken of them and their work on the day of presentation.





Performance Presentations will be held in the Prairie Lounge from 9:30-11:00 am.

Performance Presentation Schedule - Moderator: Tammie Walker - Judges: Ken Mietus, Jeanne Stierman, Todd Lough, Lysa Fox, John McMurtery, and Randall Faust



Podium Presentations will be held in the Fox, Kaskaskia, Springfield, and Vandalia rooms from 1:00-3:00 pm.

Please note that the Kaskaskia, Springfield, and Vandalia rooms are commonly referred to as the Capitol Rooms and are located near the the Office of Student Activities.A complete map of the University Union can be downloaded here for your convenience.

Fox Room Schedule - Moderator: David Rohall - Judges: Jennie Hemingway and Larry Balsamo

Kaskaskia Room Schedule - Moderator: Daniel Ogbaharya - Judges: Linda Zellmer and Patrick McGinty

Springfield Room Schedule - Moderator: MaCherie Placide - Judges: Hongbok Lee and Chris Sutton

Vandalia Room Schedule - Moderator: Michele Aurand - Judges: Brian Clark and Kimberly Dodson



Please contact the Centennial Honors College at (309) 298-2228 for more information.