CPEP

Web Resources for Teachers

  • Recommended site

All Teacher Levels/Subjects   -   See all

    • National Education Association-lesson plans, classroom management, teaching strategies - nea.org
    • Public Broadcasting Service-107 items, sort by subject area and grade level - pbs.org/teachers
    • Discipline by Design-teaching techniques - honorlevel.com
    • Education World-lesson plans, technology, teaching tools, templates - educationworld.com
  • Chicago Public Schools, Shield’s Elementary- many links listed for students and teachers, Pre-K through 8 in a variety of subjects - Shields.cps.k12.il.us
  • Teacher Files-free resources for the classroom - teacherfiles.com
  • Fun Brain-variety of subjects, parents, games, teachers, quiz/lab - funbrain.com
  • Totally Free Children’s Learning Network- many education topics/subjects, photos, videos, games, information, activities, fantastic website - kidsknowit.com
  • Interactive Website for Grades Pre-K-12- standard based, cross curricular, web resources - jc-schools.net/tutorials/interactive.htm
  • Sites for Teachers-reading, math, writing, social studies, science, very comprehensive, lessons, worksheets, resources, activities, clipart - sitesforteachers.com
  • Teacher Vision-reading, music, drama, health, safety, art, history, language arts, science, social studies, choose grades, subjects, themes, lesson plans, classroom management, calendar, graphic organizer - teachervision.fen.com
  • Discovery Education-resources by grade levels, topics (science, English, math, social studies), lesson plans, puzzles, clip art - discoveryeducation.com/survival/?campaign=T_SFC
  • Classroom Management and Organization: A Game Plan for Success-well organized and helpful - pgcps.org/~elc/gameplan.htm
  • Getting Organized, Organizing Your Classroom-visuals, practical advice, ideas - ourclassweb.com/sites_for_teachers_getting_organized.htm
  • Lesson Planet-13 subject areas, lesson plans, resources, standards - lessonplanet.com/
  • Federal Resources for Educational Excellence-art, music, health, physical education, language arts, math, Us history topics, US time periods, science and world studies - free.ed.gov
  • Teacher Created Resources-teacher guides, classroom management - teachercreated.com
  • Teaching Hearts Ultimate Back to School Stop-large number of teacher topics and resources - teachingheart.net/ultimate.html
  • Cyberbullying

History/Social Studies   -   See all

    • National Museum of the American Indian, Smithsonian Institute-education, collections and research - npg.si.edu
    • History Teacher.Net-practicing social studies teacher, maintains a fantastic website with a large number of related links, current event, historical activities, lesson plans, projects, beginning and advanced levels of topics, discussions, activities, well organized - historyteacher.net
    • Geography-US, world, geographic, photos, lesson plans, maps - aaawhere.com/geog-usa.htm
  • National Council for the Social Studies-comprehensive library collection organized by historical period and grade level, curriculum, state and teacher standards - socialstudies.org/teacherslibrary
  • Lesson Plans and Resources for Social Studies Teachers-lesson plans, standards, curriculum, strategies, activities - csun.edu/~hceduo13
  • National Geographic Society-education, teachers, activities, mapping, national standards, multimedia, games, puzzles, teacher guides, Kids’ site - nationalgeographic.com
  • Kids National Geographic-activities, games, resources, countries, safety, photos, various age levels - nationalgeographic.com/kids
  • Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum- teacher and student resources for learning about President Lincoln's life and presidency, related topics and activities - alplm.org

Art   -   See all

    • American Art Museum, Smithsonian Institute-education, resources - americanart.si.edu
    • National Portrait Gallery, Smithsonian Institute-collective, education, research, collections, education, research - npg.si.edu
    • KinderArt-lesson plans, teacher resources, multicultural art - kinderart.com
    • Dick Blick-art materials - dickblick.com

Science   -   See all

    • National Geographic-lessons, photos, videos, current news, space earth, archeology, prehistoric, Kids site - nationalgeographic.com
    • National Science Teachers’ Association (NSTA)-current news, teacher resources information - nsta.org

Math   -   See all

    • Jim Olsen’s Home Page- Website of fantastic resources for math teachers - faculty.wiu.edu/JR-Olsen/wiu
    • Easy Math-connect with other math related websites - easymath.org
    • Cool Math 4 Kids-games, puzzles, lesson plans, flash cards, time tables, brain benders, basic math skills - coolmath4kids.com
  • Math Forum-ask Dr. Math, problems of the week, discussions, exercises - mathforum.com
  • AAA Math-math facts, geometry, algebra, ratios, practical math - aaamath.com
  • Figure This-math challenges for families - figurethis.org

English/Language Arts   -   See all

    • Web English Teacher-large variety of subjects/topics within the category, many lesson plans, teaching ideas - webenglishteacher.com
    • National Council for Teachers of English-(NCTE), resources, lesson plan for various grade levels, ideas for classrooms, thinking, standards, newsletter - ncte.org/lessons
  • Reading Rockets-books, authors, wide and extensive related topics, classroom strategies, teaching reading, resources, research, videos - readingrockets.org
  • Teaching Literature-American, British and world literature, lesson plans, drama, speech, mythology, poetry, nonfiction, writing, story response, Shakespeare, course syllabi - teachingliterature.org