Educational Studies

Scholarships and Other Financial Resources


Ranger Scholarship

John D. and Mary Denise Ranger have graciously established a $1,000 scholarship for a graduate student in the Master's degree program in the Department of Educational Studies. The scholarship will be applied to the student’s tuition account ($500 fall and $500 spring). Financial need is not considered for this scholarship.

Requirements for this scholarship, you:

  1. must have completed 15 hours in the program by the end of the current spring semester.
  2. must have earned at least a 3.0 grade point average.
  3. are required to document your leadership, community and university activities and other accomplishments and awards.
  4. are required to write two different essays:  Persuasive Essay and Description of Leadership Work

Application Process:

  1. download the Ranger Scholarship Application (PDF) and the Essay Rubric (PDF) that will be used in scoring.
  2. must submit the complete application by March 1.

Diversity Partners Program

The Department of Educational Studies offers tuition waiver awards for minorities through our Diversity Partners Program. Qualified candidates receive two tuition waivers with a value of three semester hours each to use for registration in EDL 500 and EDL 504. Candidate will receive two additional tuition waivers with a value of three semester hours each upon successful completion of EDL 500 and EDL 504 and final admission by the department's Graduate Committee. The department awards up to a total of 48 semester hours per year.

Criteria for eligibility are below:

  1. Candidate must be a minority.
  2. Candidate must meet the stated criteria for admission to the degree program.
  3. Candidate must plan to work in a school setting upon completion of the program.
  4. Candidate must be eligible for certification as an Illinois school administrator upon completion of the program.

Diversity Partners Program Application

American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Scholarships

Six Graduate Student Scholarships are available from AASA in the amount of $2,000 each for outstanding graduate students who intend to pursue the public school superintendency as a career.

Applications are available annually online beginning May 1 or from chairs of educational studies departments. Only one candidate may be submitted by each university, and they must be recommended by a dean and at least one faculty member, with supporting statements. More information is available from Awards, AASA.

Award Recipients Selected by Faculty

The faculty in the Department of Educational Studies select students each Spring to receive the Krong, Salisbury, and Hall awards. Recipients of these awards are chosen through a process of faculty nomination and selection.

  1. Norman L. and Eileen A. Krong Award 
    High Scholastic Achievement and Promise

    The Krong award was established in March 1987 by Dr. Norman L. and Eileen Krong to annually honor an outstanding Master’s degree graduate in educational administration. This award is given in recognition of high scholastic achievement in the master’s degree program and promise for continuing educational leadership.

  2. Arnold W. “Arnie” Salisbury Educational Leadership Award 
    Exemplary Leadership Skills

    The Salisbury award was established in honor of Dr. Arnold W. Salisbury upon his retirement from Western Illinois University in 1980. From 1968 to 1980, Dr. Salisbury taught in the Department of Educational Administration, Supervision and Curriculum and he also served as chairperson from 1969 to 1980. This award is given annually to a student who has earned the EdS in Educational Leadership and has displayed exemplary leadership skills in his or her professional career.

  3. Robert F. Hall Dissertation Award 
    Excellence in Dissertation Research

    The Hall award was established in 2008 in honor of Dr. Robert F. Hall upon his retirement from Western Illinois University. Dr. Hall taught in the Department of Educational Leadership from 1986 to 2008 and also served as chairperson of the department from 2004 to 2008. This award is given annually to a student who has completed the EdD in Educational Leadership and is in recognition of excellence in dissertation research.

Additional WIU Financial Resources:

  1. Education Scholarships
  2. FASFA: Free Application for Federal Student Aid