Counselor Education

The People of Counselor Education


Counselors training counselors...

The Department of Counselor Education (CNED) is a group of diverse, award-winning, and nationally recognized faculty. CNED faculty participate in local, state, regional, national, and international professional arenas. They are licensed and certified in counseling and hold advanced degrees from well-regarded programs. CNED faculty are recognized for excellence in teaching and service to the profession and have been awarded honors for their scholarly publications. Several faculty have been awarded delivery-based grants that provide service to disenfranchised populations. Additionally, the faculty sit on several review panels for national peer-reviewed publication outlets. CNED faculty offer students quality, integrity, and a nationally-accredited program of study. 

Faculty                 Phone: 309/762-1876     Fax: 309/762-6989

Click on pictures for more information and/or office hours.

Holly Nikels Dr. Holly J. Nikels
Professor / Department Chair
Office: Room 2423
Phone: 309/762-3999
            ext. 62272

Rebecca McLean Dr. Rebecca McLean
Office: Room 2421
Phone: 309/762-3999
             ext. 62273

Leslie O'Ryan Dr. Leslie Whisinnand O'Ryan
Office: Room 2415
Phone: 309/762-3999
            ext. 62239

Carrie Alexander-Albrition
Dr. Carrie Alexander-Albritton
Office: Room 2417
Phone: 309/762-3999
             ext. 62268

Dr. Erin Lane   Dr. Erin Lane
  Assistant Professor
  Office: Room 2411
  Voice Mail: 309/762-3999
                     ext. 68034

Matt Beck
Dr. Matthew J. Beck
Assistant Professor
Office: Room 2413
Voice Mail: 309/762-3999
                  ext. 62221


Haley Wikoff   Dr. Haley Wikoff

  Assistant Professor
  Office: Room 2419
  Phone: 309/762-3999 
                ext. 62267



Adjunct Faculty

  • Andrew Garrison
  • Emily Gordon
  • Shelley Klaas
  • Becky Moreno

*Adjunct office hours by appointment


Diane Heisner Diane I. Heisner

Office Manager
Office:  2427 
Phone: 309/762-1876
Extension: 62292
Fax: 309/762-6989

Assistants                 Phone: 309/762-3999 ext. 68011         

  • Ashley Dodson - Research Assistant (RA)
  • Katherine Krone - Research Assistant (RA) 
  • Hunter Hendricksen - Research Assistant (RA) 

Professors Emeritus

  • Ed Hamann, Ed.D. (1946-2013) - Northern Illinois University
  • Bill McFarland, Ed.D. - Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • Melanie E. Rawlins, Ph.D. - University of Nebraska - Lincoln
  • Beatrice L. Wehrly, Ph.D. (1926-2014) - Texas A & M University

CNED Board of Advisors 2012-2017

  • Doug Bodeen - Moline High School, Moline IL
  • Alan Dassow - Glenview Middle School, East Moline IL
  • Jim DiTulio - Western Illinois University Counseling Center, Macomb IL
  • Cindy Dobroski - The Center for Youth and Family Solutions, Rock Island IL
  • Rhonda Nelson - Bridgeway, Galesburg IL
  • Jennifer Page - Rock Island High School, Rock Island IL
  • Telly Papanikolaou - Arrowhead Ranch, Coal Valley IL
  • Haley Wikoff - Bettendorf Middle School, Bettendorf IA

Adjunct Pool Invitation