Western Hornist

Meet Dr. Randall Faust

Randall E. Faust is a Professor of Music at Western Illinois University and Hornist of the Camerata Woodwind Quintet and LaMoine Brass Quintet. Since 2002, he has hosted the annual Western Illinois Horn Festival—bringing a variety of outstanding hornists and clinicians to the WIU Campus—and in 2009, he hosted the 41st International Horn Symposium of the International Horn Society.

As a hornist, he has established a reputation as a performer of the work of contemporary composers—including the Camerata Woodwind Quintet Recording of the works of Hétu, Iannaccone, and Steinmentz (Crystal Records), and his recording of horn music of William Presser and Randall Faust (Cellar Sound). He has performed and presented lecture and clinic sessions many times at the Symposia of the International Horn Society, and he presents solo recitals and clinics throughout the country.   Other performance credits include many broadcasts over Peach State Public Radio during twelve years as Principal Hornist of the Columbus, Georgia, Symphony Orchestra and the recording as a member of the Clarion Wind Symphony: Sea Drift—the Wind Music of Anthony Iannaccone (Albany Records Troy 280.)

His articles and reviews have appeared in The Horn Call since 1980. He has chronicled the work of legendary Interlochen horn teacher Marvin Howe in his 1996 Horn Call Article "Marvin Howe Singer of Smooth Melodies" and in his edition of Marvin Howe's The Singing Hornist (2001).

He has served on the Faculty of Shenandoah Conservatory of Music of Shenandoah University (1973-1982), Auburn University (1982-1997), and in addition, he served on the Summer Horn Faculty, Interlochen Center for the Arts for over two decades.   His service to the profession includes terms as President of the National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors, (1992-1994), and The International Horn Society (1987-1990). During the 2004-2005 Academic year, he served as Interim Chair of the Western Illinois Department of Music.

Since 1990, his work has been recognized as an annual recipient of the prestigious ASCAP AWARD. In 1987, he received the Orpheus Award from The Auburn University Chapter of Phi Mu Alpha Sinfonia Fraternity for "significant and lasting contributions to music in America." Most recently, he was honored by the Western Illinois University Chapter of the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi as the recipient of its Outstanding Artist Award for 2004. In both 2006 and 2010 Dr, Faust was selected for the College of Fine Arts and Communication's Creative Activity Award and in 2009, he was presented the PUNTO AWARD by the International Horn Society.

The compositions of Randall Faust have been performed at many international venues—including the Symposia of The International Horn Society, The International Trumpet Guild, The International Trombone, Association, The National Gallery of Art, and the Weill Recital Hall of Carnegie Hall. His compositions have been discussed in several doctoral dissertations—most prominently in The Horn in Mixed Media Compositions Through 1991 by James Alan Criswell--Doctor of Musical Arts Dissertation, The University of Maryland, 1995; and A Performance Guide to the Horn Works of Randall Edward Faust by Alan Franklin Mattingly--Doctor of Music Treatise, The Florida State University, 1998. His music has been recorded on Albany Records, MSR Classics, Crystal Records, Summit Records, and ACA Digital Recordings by an array of artists including The Palisades Virtuosi, Andrew Pelletier, David Griffin, Ralph Lockwood, Steven Gross, Michael Hatfield, Randy Gardner, David Krehbiel, and Douglas Hill.

Dr. Faust's professional and academic studies began at The Interlochen Arts Academy (Interlochen Honors Musicianship Scholarship, 1966), and continued at Eastern Michigan University (Bachelor of Science, summa cum laude, 1972), Minnesota State University, Mankato (Master of Music in Composition, 1973), and The University of Iowa (Doctor of Musical Arts, 1980). His horn teachers have included Marvin Howe, John Berg, Marvin McCoy, Don Haddad, Eugene Wade, Orrin Olson, Paul Anderson, Michael Hatfield, Arnold Jacobs, and Helen Kotas Hirsch; and his composition teachers were Rolf Scheurer, Warren Benson, Anthony Iannaccone, Peter Tod Lewis, and Donald Martin Jenni.