Campus Connection: Dec. 5, 2008 • Vol. 24, No. 8

Fall 2008 Commencement ceremony schedule

First doctoral recipients; outstanding alumni to be recognized Dec. 20

President Goldfarb Speaking.Ceremonies recognizing the academic and personal accomplishments of Western Illinois University students and alumni will be held Friday-Saturday, Dec. 19-20 in Macomb during Fall 2008 Commencement Weekend.

This Commencement will also mark the hooding of the initial 22 candidates in Western’s inaugural doctoral program in educational leadership.

The weekend begins with the Academic Honors Convocation at 5:30 p.m. Friday, Dec. 19 in Western Hall. This ceremony recognizes College Scholars, Departmental Scholars, Honors Scholars and candidates who have earned academic distinction throughout their undergraduate career. Students receive a medallion for each honor, which they wear at Commencement ceremonies.

Nearly 1,250 students—including some 900 undergraduate students, more than 90 nontraditional students in the Board of Trustees/Bachelor of Arts (BOT/BA) degree program, more than 230 master’s-level graduate students and 22 doctoral students who have applied for graduation— are eligible to participate in Commencement Ceremonies scheduled for 9:30 a.m. and 1 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 20 in Western Hall. The combined ceremonies will include the hooding of graduate degree candidates.

Alumni Achievement Awards will be presented to three individual honorees during each ceremony. Eight graduating students with high academic achievements in their respective colleges, 16 students in all, will serve as marshals at the ceremonies.

The 9:30 a.m. ceremony will recognize candidates for graduation in the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Business and Technology, the BOT/BA program and interdisciplinary studies.

Alumni Achievement Awards will be presented to Matthew D. Miller (1992), president of Rally Appraisal LLC, Bettendorf, (IA); Col. Lois Beard (1976), Brigade Commander of the U.S. Army’s 42nd Military Police Brigade (MPB), Ft. Lewis, (WA); and Tamara Harris (1992), instructional technologist/learning specialist for IBM Learning Development and founder of Selene’s Sensations bakery in Atlanta, (GA).

Marshals for the 9:30 a.m. ceremony include the following: Adam Albrecht (Elizabeth, IL); Erin Austin (Warsaw, IL); Lindsay Fischer (Urbana, IL); Alexander Heuer (Swansea, IL); Jonathon Myers (Macomb, IL); Katie Pickford (Sterling, IL): and Lindsay Steward (Macomb, IL), and Sadie Luper, (Table Grove, IL).

The 1 p.m. ceremony will recognize candidates for graduation in the College of Education and Human Services and the College of Fine Arts and Communication.

Alumni Achievement Awards will be presented to Nancy Brattain Rogers (1986), professor and director of the Center for Public Service and Community Engagement at Indiana State University, Terre Haute, (IN); Bart Rogers (1992), chief administrative officer of the U.S. Cellular Coliseum, Bloomington, (IL); and Joseph “Skip” Begley (1974), chair of the Hinsdale (IL) Central High School Department of Physical Education.

Marshals for the 1 p.m. ceremony include the following: Autumn Campbell (Aledo, IL); Katrina Cox (Round Lake, IL); Nicole Duke (Burlington, IA); Katherine Herbst (Mokena, IL); Kristen Kuntz (Beardstown, IL); Brittany Regnier (North Aurora, IL); Briana Smith (Cambridge, IL); and Kristin Vaziri (Lombard, IL).

Associate Provost and Academic Vice President Jack Thomas will lead each Commencement ceremony and President Al Goldfarb will confer degrees and make remarks to the graduating classes. Trustee Chair Steven Nelson will offer remarks on behalf of the Board of Trustees, and 2008 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, Michael Romano, biology professor, will be recognized in each ceremony. Alumni Council President Pam Hoffman (1970, 1990) will present the Alumni Achievement Awards and offer closing remarks at each ceremony.

For full details, including information on broadcasts, photographs and seating, see the Dec. 5 news release at