Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Anti-Racism Task Force (ARTF)

WIU President Huang has created a new Anti-Racism Task Force (ARTF), composed of approximately 22 faculty, staff, students from both campuses, as well as community members. The WIU Task Force's first objective will be to identify anti-racism initiatives and advise/support the creation of the University's Diversity Plan.

WIU ARTF members

Students - Devon Bradley, Jalen Carlos, Fiifi Godwyll, Ariahanna Hightower and Michelle Narvaez
Faculty - Rebekah Buchanan, Merrill Cole, Tracy Davis, Kishor Kapale, Jim LaPrad, Barry McCrary, Heather McIlvaine-Newsad, Lorette Oden, Macherie Placide, Hector Maymi-Sugranes, and Shaozhong Zhang
Staff - Rob Jeter, Tim Johnson, Ted Renner, Sterling Saddler, and Derek Watts
Community Members - Jerel Jones and Andrea Henderson.

ARTF Sub-Committees

  • Curriculum
  • Faculty & Staff: Hiring, Retention & Promotion
  • Student Access & Success
  • Sustained & Effective Communication

ARTF Updates


group of students sitting/standing on steps together talking/hanging out

Contact Information:

Carl Ervin, Interim Director, Justice, Inclusion, Diversity and Equity
Phone: 309-298-2220
Email: diversity@wiu.edu