Faculty Senate

Council on General Education - Duties

Among other duties, the Council on General Education;

  • reviews the General Education Curriculum
  • oversees and advises in ongoing assessments of that curriculum by other agencies
  • works to insure that the curriculum reflects the University's philosophy and goals of General Education.

In the fall of 2005, the Council on General Education, with the addition of six Senate-appointed members, was charged with conducting a thorough review of the General Education requirements at Western Illinois University, including a careful consideration of the W Requirement. The report by the General Education Review Committee (GERC) was completed in fall of 2007 and approved by Faculty Senate and President Goldfarb in October 2007.  Another review was undertaken in 2016 and will be completed in 2017.

Meeting Minutes

Please note: If you need an alternative version of these documents, please contact Annette Hamm at (309)298-1589 or via email to: AE-Hamm@wiu.edu.












Meeting Schedule

Unless otherwise specified, the Council conducts 6 - 8 meetings per semester, every other Thursday at 3:30 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. Meetings will be held in Stipes 501.

Spring 201*:


  • February 1
  • February 15
  • March 1
  • March 22
  • April 5
  • April 19
  • May 3  

Chair, 2017-2018:   

  • Keith Holz, Art

Members, 2017-2018:

  • Steve Bennett, Geology
  • Krista Bowers Sharpe, University Libraries
  • Ute Chamberlin, History
  • Jongnam Choi, Geography
  • Jonathan Day, Political Science
  • Gary Daytner, Educational Studies
  • Keith Holz, Art (Chair)
  • Kishor Kapale, Physics 
  • Mike Lukkarinen, Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration
  • Colton Markey, SGA Student Rep
  • Kyle Mayborn, College of Arts and Sciences (ex-officio)
  • Kathleen O'Donnell-Brown, English
  • Nancy Parsons, Office of the Provost (ex-officio)
  • Betsy Perabo, Liberal Arts and Sciences
  • Michelle Yager, UAASC (ex-officio)
  • David Zanolla, Communication

General Education Review Committee (GERC)  Members

  •    All the members of CGE, plus--
  •    Two most recent past chairs of CGE:
    • Diane Sandage, Sociology, and Anthropology
    • Marjorie Allison, English

    One faculty member from each academic college: 

    • Gordon Pettit, Philosophy (A&S)
    • Marty Maskarinec, Computer Sciences (B&T)
    • Emily Shupe, Dietetics, Fashion Merchandising, and Hospitality (E&HS)
    • Cheryl Bailey, Communication (FA&C)

   CAGAS representative (ex-officio):

    • Kristine Kelly, Psychology



Annual Reports: