University News

Writing Women Back Into History Award Call for Nominations

November 6, 2013

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - The Macomb Feminist Network (MFN) is seeking nominations for its 2014 Writing Women Back into History Award.

The award, established in 2010, honors women who have made extraordinary contributions to shaping the local community and expands our knowledge of these contributions.

Eligible nominees include women who have lived in McDonough County, have been positive role models and, through their accomplishments, have made a difference in the lives of others in the community.

Self-nominations will be considered when they are accompanied by a letter of support. Nominations of women who fit the criteria but have passed away will also be considered.

Past award recipients are: Wanda Black, Mary Ellen Graff, Rosa Julestrom and Beth Stiffler (2010); Constance DeMuth Berg, Marcia Moll and Ruth Parks (2011); Maria Dunstan, Judith Kohler and Donna Werner (2012); Josephine Johnson (posthumously) Elizabeth "Betty" Kaspar and Janice Welsch (2013).

The 2014 recipients of the award will be honored at a reception hosted by the Macomb Feminist Network in the Western Illinois University Multicultural Center on Saturday, March 1, from 10 – 11:30 a.m.

Nomination forms can be downloaded from MFN's web site at or may be obtained by contacting Sally Egler at or (309) 836-6836.

Nominations are due by Monday, Dec. 2.

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations