University News

Excellence in Diversity Reception May 14

May 4, 2015

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL -- Western Illinois University's 26th annual Excellence in Diversity Awards reception will be held from 4-6 p.m. Thursday, May 14 in the University Union Lamoine Room on the WIU-Macomb campus.

Nominees will be recognized for Excellence in Leadership, Education and Service. In addition, the Dupuis Leadership Award in Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Communities and the Dupuis Leadership Award in Historically Underrepresented Communities will be awarded. The 2015 Cathy O'Neill Couza Award for Outstanding Leadership in Diversity will also be presented.

The awards, which are presented by President Jack Thomas, are designed to celebrate diversity and multicultural leadership efforts that have advanced Western's Strategic Plan, "Higher Values in Higher Education," increased diversity and created a campus climate that welcomes and supports all individuals.
Nominees include:

Excellence in Education: Ryan Bronaugh, LaTessa Black, Barbara Harroun, Jacqueline Wilson-Jordan, Jim LaPrad, Gretchen Steil-Weiss, Pat McGrath and RISE@WIU.

Excellence in Leadership: Amy Peters, Ryan Bronaugh, Lukas Smith, LaTessa Black, Art Tate, Barbara Harroun, Crystal Kepple, Jacqueline Wilson-Jordan, Gretchen Steil-Weiss, Tiara Cash and Janell McGruder.

Excellence in Service: Amy Peters, Ryan Bronaugh, Lukas Smith, Barbara Harroun, Crystal Kepple, Jacqueline Wilson-Jordan, DeHavilland McCrary and the LGBTQA Resource Center.

A diversity-related panel discussion will also be held, featuring Erik Brooks, chair of the Department of African American Studies and interim director of the Gwendolyn Brooks Cultural Center, Tracy Davis, professor and graduate coordinator of College Student Personnel and the director of the Center for the Study of Masculinities and Men's Development, Andrés Hijar, assistant professor in the department of English and Journalism and Foreign Languages and Literature, Deb Miretzky, associate professor in the Department of Educational Studies, Jeremy Robinett and Rachel Smith, assistant professors in the Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration and Norma Suvak, assistant professor in the Department of Women's Studies.

For more information or to RSVP, contact the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access at (309) 298-1977.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing