Quad Cities Campus

Past Ready To Run® Illinois Events

2017 Speakers

The program kicked off with a keynote address by Congresswoman Cheri Bustos (IL-17). Featured speakers included Eva Pusateri Campbell, communications and strategy consultant and president and founder of Expert Communications, Inc.; Nancy Bocskor, expert in civic leadership, fundraising and applied democracy and owner of the Nancy Bocskor Company; and Rebecca Sive, lecturer, Harris School of Public Policy, University of Chicago, who spoke on her book Every Day Is Election Day: A Woman's Guide to Winning Any Office from the PTA to the White House.

Current and former elected officials at the local and state level will also advise participants on how to get started today for a life in public service. A panel of campaign managers, consultants, and political party leaders will share their expertise on what women need to know to run for public office. Topics covered include strategy,communication, media/social media, party support, and fundraising.

Speaker Biographies >>

Featured Presentations
  • Keynote: US Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-17)
  • Communications: Eva Pusateri-Campbell
  • Fundraising: Nancy Bocskor
  • Every Day Is Election Day: Rebecca Sive

Keynote Speaker: US Rep. Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

Panel Presentation: Laying the Groundwork for Public Life

Panel Presentation: Judicial Campaigns

Panel Presentation: Accessing Local and State Party Power

Panel Presentations
Launching a Serious Campaign
  • Elizabeth Van Holt, Isaiah Group
  • Emily Parcell, Wildfire Consult Inc.
  • Robin Johnson, Consultant and Monmouth College Instructor
  • Drew McConville, Revolution Messaging
Laying the Groundwork for Public Life
  • Maggie Tinsman, Former IA State Senator, Co-Founder of 50/50 in 2020
  • Stephanie Acri, Mayor of Moline
  • Alice Henry, McDonough County Board
  • Kim Callaway-Thompson, Rock Island County Board
    • Moderator: Janna Deitz, WIU
Accessing Local and State Party Power
  • Debbie Halvorson, Former IL State Senator and Member of Congress
  • Mia Mayberry, Rock Island County Board
  • Avery Bourne, Illinois State Representative
  • Susan Wynn Bence, Illinois Federation of Republican Women; Former Member, Iroquois County Board
  • Pam Monetti, Illinois Democratic Women; Former President, Bunker Hill Board of Education 
  • Judy Davidson, Iowa Republican Party
    • Moderator: Audrey Adamson, WIU
Judicial Campaigns
  • Judge Heidi Benson, 9th Circuit Court
  • Brad Carlson, Campaign Consultant 
  • Judge Kathleen Mesich, 14th Circuit Court
  • Phil Hare, Campaign Manager and former Member of Congress
    • Moderator: Jill Myers, WIU
Lunch and Learn
Press Coverage
  • Alan Sivell, Professor of Communications and Media Professional
Women of Color
  • Berlinda Tyler-Jamison, President - Rock Island County NAACP
  • Sangeetha Rayapati, Vice President - Moline - Coal Valley School District 
  • Eva Savala - Community Activist
  • Kim Callaway-Thompson, Rock Island County Board