Administrative Services

Smoke Free Campus

Smoke Free Campus Act

General Statement of Policy

Western Illinois University (University) endeavors to provide a safe and healthy environment to live, learn and work. In accordance with (110 ILCS 64/) the Smoke-Free Campus Act, as of July 1, 2015 smoking is prohibited on all Campus Property at the University, both indoors and outdoors, in university-owned vehicles and in privately-owned vehicles parked on Campus Property. Littering the remains of tobacco and smokeless tobacco products or any other related waste product on campus property is also prohibited.

The use of smokeless tobacco is also prohibited where student activities and/or learning takes place. This includes: classrooms, laboratories, libraries, and facilities where student conferences and meetings occur. Included are University vehicles when students are present. Smokeless tobacco is further prohibited inside all buildings/facilities, to include stadiums, gymnasiums, or other similar places where the general public may assemble.


This policy applies to any individual on campus property, including but not limited to students, faculty, staff, other employees such as temporary, lump sum, or seasonal employees, contractors, subcontractors, volunteers, guests and members of the public, and it is applicable twenty-four (24) hours a day, seven (7) days a week.

smoke-free campus sign w/ thompson hall


Task Force

Chair - Digger Oster, Division of Administrative Services
Scott Coker, Facilities Management
Steve Rock, Faculty Senate
Joe Roselieb, University Housing and Dining Services
Kristi Mindrup, WIU-Quad Cities
John Smith, Beu Health Center
Darcie Shinberger, Division of Advancement and Public Services and University Relations
Tim Sheridan, Student Rights, Responsibilities, and Retention Initiatives
Pam Bowman, Human Resources
Letisha Trepac, Academic Personnel
Scott Harris, Office of Public Safety
Amanda Shoemaker, Council of Administrative Personnel
Wendi Mattson, Civil Service Employees Council
Tara Westerhold, Faculty Senate
Andrea Henderson, Equal Opportunity and Access
Tim Schroll, Facilities Management
JoAnn Hairston-Jones, Alcohol and Other Drug Resource Center/Beu
David Dunn, Student Government Association
Julie Dewees, Division of Administrative Services
Kerri Allen, McDonough County Health Department

We Are a Smoke Free Campus sign


*Some links will take the user to a PDF file, which may not be accessible to people with disabilities. If you find you need further assistance with a specific file, contact the office of the Vice President of Administrative Services at 309/298-1800.