Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research

Provost's Awards for Academic Excellence

In 2005, the Provost's Awards for Academic Excellence was established to celebrate faculty contributions in teaching, research, service and campus initiatives. Six awards are granted annually culminating in a recognition ceremony in the early fall of each year. Award recipients receive a $1,000 stipend and a crystal recognition sculpture. Candidates must be current Unit A or B faculty.

Application Information

Submission Information

2023-2024 Documents

Award Guidelines

Note: You may include 3 letters of support which do not count toward the 10 page limitation

Application Limitations

  • Narrative - no more than five (5) pages, single spaced - be sure to state the impact on university, students and community.
  • Stipulated Appendix to proceed your narrative - Each application must contain a stipulated appendix.
  • Sample syllabus - Include a syllabus for one course. (NOTE: This does not count toward your page limit). You will upload this into a separate folder on Google Drive.
  • Ten (10) pages of supporting documentation. Whenever applicable, such as in the case of performing/creative works, faculty may submit multi-media materials For each, the number of pages of supporting documentation should be reduced by the number of items represented. These submissions should not contain multipage works, such as entire journal articles or books.
  • Up to three (3) letters of support from deans, chairs, peers or students – letters of support from these individuals do not count towards your 10-page limit of supporting documentation. These must be included with your packet at the time of submission and will not be collected by CITR. Each letter of support should not exceed two (2) pages. You will upload these to a separate Google Drive folder. These pages do not count to your total page limit for your narrative.

2022 Award Winners

  • Excellence in Teaching: Jena Gardner, Department of Music
  • Excellence in Multicultural Teaching: Peter Cole, Department of History
  • Excellence in Enhancing Learning with Technology: Ian Shelly, Department of Art and Design
  • Excellence in Scholarly/Creative/Performance/Professional Activities: Susan Stewart, Department of Management and Marketing
  • Excellence in University/Community Service:  Jeremy Robinett , Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration
  • Outstanding Academic Advisor: Niall Harnett, College of Arts and Science

View the news release for additional details about the 2022 Award Winners

Previous Award Winners