Graham Student Assistant Scholarship

The William H. and Eva Little Graham Libraries Student Assistant Scholarship is awarded to WIU students currently employed by University Libraries (Curriculum, Malpass, Music, or WIU-QC Libraries) who have demonstrated excellence in the performance of their assignment. The $500 scholarship will be applied to the students' tuition.

The Scholarship was established through a bequest from Louis and Maxine Haertle. Mr. Haertle was a generous donor to University Libraries and contributed money for the purchase of books and artwork dedicated to the memory of his wife, Maxine Graham Haertle. The Scholarship is named after Maxine's parents, William H. and Eva Little Graham.

The Grahams have long been associated with Western Illinois University. Eva Little Graham was a student in 1903-04 and many of her children and grandchildren attended WIU. Her daughter, Peggy Graham Zinga, was employed by University Libraries for sixteen years. The William H. and Eva Little Graham Libraries Student Assistant Scholarship provides a worthy student with a tuition grant and offers an annual opportunity for acknowledging the generosity of the Graham and Haertle families to WIU and University Libraries.

Recipients will be selected in the fall semester and the award given the following spring. They must have been employed by University Libraries for two semesters or one semester plus one summer; be employed the semester they are nominated, and in the semester they receive an award. Although the students must be in good academic standing, they will be evaluated on the quality of their work in the Library. Evaluation will be based on a brief essay related to their work in University Libraries, letters and supporting documentation from their supervisors, peers, library users, etc. and an interview. Personal characteristics such as reliability, trustworthiness, willingness to cooperate, quality and quantity of work, judgment, initiative and creativity will also be considered.

Applications with detailed information are available in the Administrative Office, Malpass Library. For more information, call 309-298-2762.

Congratulations to our 2020-2021 recipients, Hannah Akers and Samuel Ogali!

Past Recipients

  • 2020-2021: Hannah Akers, Samuel Ogali
  • 2019-2020: Grace Howard
  • 2018-2019: Caroline Huff, Dejah Martin, Karissa Scales, Deja Wriddley
  • 2017-2018: Molly Cameron, Avilashchary Maroju, Jessika Runquist, Taylor Runquist
  • 2016-2017: Sara Devine, Rachel Eaton, Kyle Sealey
  • 2015-2016: Kelsey Chandler, Raquel Carranza
  • 2014-2015: Gabrielle Esselman, Douglas Endres
  • 2013-2014: Brandi Fink, Hyung Kwan Kim
  • 2012-2013: Andrea Dunn, Adam Frankhauser
  • 2011-2012: Sarah Ritter, Mercedes Taylor
  • 2010-2011: Elizabeth Coplan, Brandi Mounia
  • 2009-2010: Kylene Davenport, Sara Vasquez Melendez
  • 2008-2009: Nicole Baber, Alaura Kartel
  • 2007-2008: Robert Allen, Ashley Bates
  • 2006-2007: Jeff Bara, Amanda Chenoweth
  • 2005-2006: Lindsay Battles, Keesa Stinebacker
  • 2004-2005: Brian Andrews, Amanda Caswell