University News

Phi Kappa Phi at WIU to Initiate New Class

April 8, 2014

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - Western Illinois University's chapter of Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society will hold its 42nd annual induction ceremony Sunday, April 13 at noon in the University Union Grand Ballroom.

The ceremony will recognize scholarship and undergraduate research award winners, with nearly 100 students being inducted into the society. Admission to Phi Kappa Phi is by invitation only, and invitations are extended to the top 7.5 percent of juniors, the top 10 percent of seniors and the top 10 percent of graduate students.

WIU graduate student Jessica Toops, of Aledo (IL), will be named the local nominee for the national Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship.

This year's student scholarship recipients include:

Sheila and Paul Nollen PKP Scholarship - Bryan Christensen, a junior information systems major from Davenport (IA).
Roland Grass PKP Scholarship - Gabrielle Filipink, a junior history major from Macomb (IL).
Phi Kappa Phi Scholarship - MaryBeth Hornbaker, a junior English major from Bushnell (IL).

Undergraduate Research Awards
Lowell Grabill First Place Undergraduate Research Award: David Forgas, a senior biology major from Springfield (IL).
Title: "Determination of IC50 of New Inhibitors of Cathepsin B: A Potential Gateway for Breast Cancer Treatment"
Advisor: Professor Lisa Wen, chemistry

Second Place Award: John Johnson, a senior political science major from Macomb (IL).
Title: "Democracies and Preventive War in the 21st Century"
Advisor: Professor Vincent Auger, political science

Third Place Award: Caitlyn Wright, a senior women's studies major from New Lenox (IL).
Title: "Lesbian Healthcare: Gendered Medicalization and the Stigma of Sexual Orientation"
Advisor: Professor Lora Ebert Wallace, sociology and anthropology

Fourth Place Award: Bahader Singh, a senior political science major from Bushnell (IL).
Title: "The End of Arabian Nights? An Analysis into the Struggle for Democracy in the Middle East and North Africa"
Advisor: Assistant Professor Jonathan Day, political science

Three WIU faculty members - Computer Science Associate Professor George Mangalaraj, Communication Sciences and Disorders Professor Robert W. Quesal and Biological Sciences Associate Professor Susan Peitzmeier Romano - will also be inducted to the honor society during the ceremony.

Students being inducted into Phi Kappa Phi, by state and city, include:

CERRITOS: Cassie Kopp, graduate student, recreation, park and tourism administration

ADDISON: Trevor Paulsen, senior, exercise science
ALEDO: Linsey Lundeen, senior, art
ALGONQUIN: John Cashman, senior, general studies
ATKINSON: Jayson Saylor, senior, general studies
BARTLETT: Shannon Wachter, junior, psychology
BLOOMINGTON: Michael Ready, graduate student, instructional design and technology
BUSHNELL: MaryBeth Hornbaker, junior, English
CAROL STREAM: Tyler Cieck, junior, psychology
CARTHAGE: Joseph Goetz, junior, accounting; Kristina Johnson, junior, marketing
CHATHAM: Paula Morrow, graduate student, law enforcement and justice administration
COAL VALLEY: Barbara Myers, graduate student, counseling
EAST MOLINE: Yarong Chen, senior, health sciences; Holly Lock, senior, elementary education
FREEPORT: Taylor Curry, senior, family and consumer sciences
FULTON: Evan Regenwether, senior, exercise science
GALENA: Christy Hopper, graduate student, educational leadership
GALESBURG: Lauren Crowley, graduate student, sport management; Molly Rupert, senior, recreation, park and tourism administration
GENESEO: Allison Hulslander, senior, agriculture
GENEVA: Shuang Qiu, graduate student, economics
GLEN ELLYN: Abigail Lauer, graduate student, law enforcement and justice administration
GODFREY: Lythande Singleton, junior, biology
GOOD HOPE: Katherine Cooley, senior, family and consumer sciences
HAMPSHIRE: Nancy Tegtman, senior, nursing
HENRY: Weston Wolven, graduate student, education specialist
HEYWORTH: Case Rocco, senior, general studies
JACKSONVILLE: Brett Burchard, graduate student, instructional design and technology
JOLIET: Kimberly Sullivan, senior, communication studies
JOY: Daniel Beguelin, senior, social work
LAKE IN THE HILLS: Brittany Hall, junior, psychology
MACOMB: Irina Andreeva, graduate student, mathematics; Alexis Araoz, junior, political science; Akinderpal Bains-Dhillon, graduate student, accounting; Nicholas Bakeris, senior, construction management; Brittany Barrie, graduate student, English; Gabrielle Filipink, junior, history; Reagan Hamm, junior, computer science; Lia Lukkarinen, graduate student, sport management; Brendan Monahan, graduate student, education; Shanna Reiling, graduate student, instructional design; Sally Riccardi, senior, meteorology; Seth Fromal, graduate student, jazz studies
MAPLETON: Tiffany Beckman, senior, psychology
MARSEILLES: Angela Elzer, junior, geology
MATHERVILLE:Bonnie Waller, graduate student, counseling
MOLINE: Carolyn Doroba, fall 2013 graduate, master's degree in museum studies; Judith Kaple, graduate student, education; Karyn Robertson, senior, general studies; Jeremiah Sherwin, junior, physics
MONMOUTH: Nicole Kindhart, senior, law enforcement and justice administration
MOUNT CARROLL: Mark Bressler, graduate student in music education
MOUNT MORRIS: Kassandra Massolle, junior, social work
MOZIER: Christopher Gresham, junior, psychology
PAWNEE: Danielle Bolsen, senior, agriculture business
PAYSON: Courtney Loos, senior, management
PECATONICA: Tiffany Kimbrell, senior, communication sciences and disorders
PEORIA: Adam Heien, graduate student, history; Debra Streeter, senior, general studies
QUINCY: Susan Grant, graduate student, instructional design and technology; Kimberly Tonozzi, senior, psychology; Myrna Whitley, senior, social work; Leanna Wilson, senior, communication sciences and disorders
ROCK FALLS: David Chavira, graduate student, education specialist
ROCK ISLAND: John Wagle, spring 2013 graduate, master's degree in kineseology
ROUND LAKE: Dorota Glod, junior, geology
SPRINGFIELD: Dilante Ibeh, senior, political science
STERLING: Denise Cessna, junior, elementary education
STREAMWOOD: Nicole Van Horn, senior, law enforcement and justice administration
WATERLOO: Leah Juenger, junior, communication; Devin Stumpf, senior, social work
WAUCONDA: Brittany Walls, senior, elementary education
WAUKEGAN: Daniel Ramirez, senior, law enforcement and justice administration
WOODSTOCK: Joanna Tilstra, senior, elementary education

Emily Brooks, graduate student, instructional design and technology; Antoinette Leveille, junior, liberal arts and sciences; Gina Meier, junior, biology; Lashon Moore, senior, nursing; Andrea Rascher, senior, law enforcement and justice administration; Julie Seier, graduate student, education; Leann Weiss, senior, English; Regina Wilkerson, graduate student, English; Ryan Buck, graduate student, undeclared
DYSART: Cynthia Albertsen, graduate student, sport management
GRAND MOUND: Hal Nerhus, graduate student, liberal arts and sciences
IOWA CITY: Michael Aitchison, senior, economics
KEOKUK: Carlee Gibson, senior, family and consumer sciences
PRINCETON: Kimberly Hochstein, senior, liberal arts and sciences
WEST UNION: Nicole Clements, graduate student, kinesiology

Lindsay Hiltunen, graduate student, history

Kaitlyn Hirschbeck, junior, music

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing