University News

WIU Students Being Inducted Into Golden Key International Honour Society

February 26, 2015

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL – More than 40 Western Illinois University graduate and undergraduate students will be inducted into the Golden Key International Honour Society to recognize academic achievement Sunday, April 12.

The mission of the society is to enable its members to "realize their potential through the advancement of academics, leadership and service."

In addition to the 43 WIU students being inducted, WIU faculty members Associate Professor Paul Schlag, of the WIU Department of Recreation, Park and Tourism Administration (RPTA), associate director of the University's Centennial Honors College and advisor for the Honour Society; Associate Professor P.K. Babu, of the WIU Department of Physics and Advisor Molly Homer, of the Centennial Honors College, will also be inducted as honorary members.

"The WIU chapter of Golden Key is delighted to recognize Dr. Paul A. Schlag, Dr. P.K. Babu and Dr. Molly Homer as honorary members of Golden Key International Honour Society," said Hannah Porter, WIU's chapter president and a senior music major from Macomb. "Their achievements at WIU represent the embodiment of the three pillars of Golden Key - Academics, Leadership and Service. The chapter looks forward to their service as mentors and role models to Golden Key student members."

Schlag will deliver the keynote address at the April 12 new member reception at 1:30 p.m. in the University Union Capitol Rooms.

The Golden Key International Honour Society was founded in November 1977, and is an academic honor society that recognizes and encourages scholastic achievement and excellence among college and university students from all academic disciplines. Students at the sophomore, junior, senior and graduate level whose academic records place them among the top 15 percent of their respective classes are invited to join the society.

The society has more than 400 chapters in colleges and universities in eight countries. The group offers more than $1 million in scholarships every year. The society also partners with major corporations and graduate programs and provides campus and community service opportunities.

This semester's new student inductees include (by hometown):


ALGONQUIN – David Allen, junior, LEJA

BARTLETT – Shannon Wachter, senior, psychology

BONAPARTE – Drew Whippie, senior, forensic chemistry

BUSHNELL – Stellera English, a junior, family and consumer sciences

BYRON – Ashley Sell, senior, family and consumer sciences

CANTON – Kathryne Valentin, senior, Spanish

CHICAGO RIDGE – Rebecca Dunterman, junior, psychology

CHILLICOTHE – Michelle Lawson, senior, LEJA

DIXON – Patrick Morrissey, senior, LEJA

EVERGREEN PARK – Brenna Smith, junior, communication

– Nicholas Breslin, junior, physics

HOMER GLEN - Raymond Sullivan, junior, physics

– Baylee Ferrier, junior, education

LAKEVILLE – Hollace Good, graduate student, arts and sciences

LINCOLN – Lucas Davis, graduate student, economics

MACOMB – Patrick Hostert, senior, political science and physics; Matthew Cook, junior, supply chain management; Reagan Hamm, senior, computer science

MORTON GROVE - Daniel Melnick, senior, LEJA

NAPERVILLE – Madeline Olejnik, junior, history; Elizabeth Hollopeter, senior, athletic training

OAK FOREST – Erik Ayala, junior, LEJA

OAKWOOD HILLS – Rebecca Rickman, senior, special education

ORLAND PARK – Emily Szott, senior, biological sciences

PEORIA – LaToy Kennedy, graduate student, educational leadership

– William Trich, senior, psychology; Kathy Jasper, graduate student, counseling

ROLLING MEADOWS – Daniel Faflik, senior, general studies

ROUND LAKE – Sheldon Keel, junior, LEJA

SPRINGFIELD – Michael Winterbauer, senior, LEJA

TAYLORVILLE – Emily Nation, senior, business

WARRENVILLE – Jose Garcia, junior, economics

WARSAW – Megan Harrison, senior, elementary education


BURLINGTON – Hannah Smith, senior, clinical laboratory science

DAVENPORT – Kyle Mente, senior, meteorology; Stacie Combs, graduate student, instructional design and technology

IOWA CITY – Michael Aitchison, senior, economics

– Allison Hartman, senior, geology and biology


CHINA - Xitong Chen, sophomore, art

SAUDI ARABIA - Aisha Alrashede, graduate student, math; Hajer Alrashedi, graduate student, math; Fawziah Alzahrani, graduate student, instructional design and technology

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing