University News

Western Illinois University Livestock Judging Team members at the 2016 Iowa Beef Expo. Front row, L to R: Damon Stayton, Clayton Boyert, Adam Heffelfinger, Mallory Espenscheid, Christine Todd, Dylan Sigrist and Max Street. Back row, L to R: Hayden Wilder, Breck Debnam, Tyler Dawson and Kade Knapp.
[Download Print-Quality Image]

WIU Livestock Judging Team Earns High Team Overall at Iowa Beef Expo

February 24, 2016

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL — A Western Illinois University Livestock Judging Team was named High Team Overall, High Team in Placings and High Team in Reasons at the 2016 Iowa Beef Expo (senior college division) in mid-February. Members of that team included: Clayton Boyert (Macomb, IL), junior, ag business; Tyler Dawson (Rushville, IN), junior, ag business; Breck Debnam (Macomb, IL), junior, ag business; Mallory Espenscheid (Traer, IA), junior, ag business; and Kade Knapp (Stanwood, IA), junior, ag business.

According to Espenscheid, two WIU five-person teams entered the livestock judging contest at the expo. The second team—comprised of Adam Heffelfinger (Springfield, IL), junior, ag business; Christine Todd (Danvers, IL), junior, ag science; Dylan Sigrist (Farina, IL), senior, ag science; Max Street (Helenville, WI), sophomore, ag business; and Hayden Wilder (Remington, IN), senior, ag business—brought home second place in the High Team Placings category. (The second team also placed fourth in the High Team Overall category.)

"It was certainly an exciting trip for the team, which is now in preparation for the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo in March," Espenscheid noted. "Our success is a direct result of livestock savvy students who are committed to humility and diligence. We are honored to be a part of such an amazing, recognized program."

Individual WIU students who placed at the Iowa Beef Expo included:

High Individual Overall
Second place: Dawson
Third place: Wilder
Fifth place: Boyert
Seventh place: Sigrist

High Individual Placings
Second place: Wilder
Fourth place: Sigrist
Fifth place: Dawson
Seventh place: Knapp

High Individual Reasons
First place: Boyert
Fourth place: Dawson
Eighth place: Wilder
10th place: Sigrist/Espenscheid (tie)

For more information, contact Espenscheid at

Posted By: Teresa Koltzenburg (
Office of University Communications & Marketing