University News

Fall Choral Concert Presented Oct. 20 at WIU

October 18, 2022

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - The Western Illinois University School of Music will present a Fall Choral Concert, "Take My Hand," at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 20 in the College of Fine Arts and Communication (COFAC) Recital Hall.

The Concert Choir, under the direction of Assistant Director of the School of Music and Assistant Professor of Music Education Jason Hawkins, programmed three pieces by Kyle Pederson and recently spent time, via Zoom, speaking with the composer about those works and his creative process.

The University Singers, under the direction of Associate Professor and Director of Choral Studies Brian J. Winnie, was part of a commission consortium of choirs with Argentinian composer Santiago Veros. The composer will be in attendance at this World Premiere performance of I Will Dream With You.

This performance is open free for general audience seating and the performance will be live-streamed on the School of Music's YouTube channel and Facebook page.


Alleluia - Paul Basler (b.1963)
Assistant Professor Jena Gardner, horn

Better is One Day - Trey McLaughlin (b. 1984)

Hands Are Knockin' - Kyle Pederson (b. 1971)
Zander Eckermann, tenor
Sydnee Osgood, alto
Angel Perez, djembe

If You Wanna Hold My Hand - Kyle Pederson
Heather Hartvigsen, soprano
Dallas Foss, tenor
Alex Mateo, guitar

Bend - Kyle Pederson

I Will Sing - Michael Engelhardt (b. 1974)
Angel Perez, drums

Hawkins, conductor
Yeon-Kyung Kim, collaborative pianist


Last March of Destiny (Midwestern Premiere) - Santiago Veros (b. 1990)
Joshua Massey, Bass

Kaleidoscope Hearts - arr. Allison Girvan

You Will Be Found from Dear Evan Hansen - arr. Mac Huff
Matthew Butler, baritone
Racquel Rawlins, alto
Abigail Domann, soprano

Winnie, conductor
Dr. Po-Chuan Chiang, collaborative pianist

I. Thou May'st Know if Thou Wilt Notice from The Consolation of Apollo - Kile Smith (b.1956)
Associate Professor Kevin Nichols, percussion

I Will Dream With You (World Premiere) - Santiago Veros (b. 1990)
Emma Bachman, soprano
Mackenzie Glasmann, speaker
Eric Ginsberg, clarinet
Ioana Popescu, violin
Gisselle Sánchez Díaz, violin
Benjamin Lorentzen, viola
Tomás Estigarribia, cello
Matthew Sulla, bass
Chiang, collaborative pianist

When the Sun Rises from I Share Creation - Bob Chilcott (b. 1955)

Awake My Soul - Elaine Hagenberg (b. 1978)

Precious Lord – arr. Arnold Sevier

If I Had a Hammer – arr. Craig Hella Johnson (b. 1962)
Nichols, percussion

Winnie, conductor
Chiang, collaborative pianist

For more information, visit or call the COFAC Recital Hall office at (309) 298-1843.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing