University News

BGS Induction

June 12, 2003

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL -- Thirty-two Western Illinois University students and one faculty member were recently inducted into Western's chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), the honor society for collegiate schools of business.

Membership in BGS is the highest national recognition a student can receive in an undergraduate or master's program in business or management accredited by the AACSB, the International Association for Management Education. To be eligible, a student must rank in the upper seven percent of the junior class, upper 10 percent of the senior class or upper 20 percent of the graduating master's class.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is a significant honor carrying lifetime affiliation with other outstanding graduates of business programs. While almost 300,000 students receive bachelor's or master's degrees in business each year, only about 15,000 students are elected to membership in BGS.

The following students, listed by hometown, were inducted:

BARDOLPH -- Daniel Morrell, a graduate business administration student.

BARTONVILLE -- Barry Dunne, a junior information management major.

BELLVILLE -- Chloe Lee, a junior marketing major.

BURLINGTON, IA -- Thomas Russell, a senior business major.

CARTHAGE -- John Carroll, a graduate business administration student.

COLCHESTER -- Brenna Harper, a senior marketing major, and Dawna Zimmerman, a graduate business administration student.

CREVE COEUR -- Amy Munday, a senior marketing major.

EAST MOLINE -- Sonya Dotson, a senior management major.


ELK GROVE VILLAGE -- Russell Michna, a senior business major.

ELMHURST -- Jason Strimpel, a junior economics major.

GENESEO -- Hilary Snodgrass, a senior management major.

GERMANY -- Welfried Baetz; Christoph Daenzer; Harald Daus; Daniel Kohlert; and Jens Reynders, graduate business administration students.

HAMILTON -- Christopher Hansen, a junior accounting major.

HAMPTON -- Jana Schauenberg, a senior finance major.

KEOKUK, IA -- Wayne Marple, a graduate business administration student.

MACOMB -- Alvaro Carvajal, a senior marketing major; Carissa Lyons, a senior economics major; and Tara Reagor, a senior finance major.

ODELL -- Eddie Legner, a senior finance major.

OSAKA, JAPAN -- Makiko Mizohata, a junior human resource management major.

POLO -- Amy Merdian, a junior accounting major.

QUINCY -- Adam Truebe, a junior management major.

SAVANNA -- Alicia Bonjour, a senior finance major.

SHERMAN -- James Woolard, a junior finance major.

SHIPMAN -- Jeremy Gwillim, a senior accounting major.

WARSAW -- Debby Meyer, a junior finance major.

YATES CITY -- Kevin Sprecher, a junior management major.

John Drea, professor of marketing and finance, of Macomb was also inducted, and Dennis Iverson, also of Macomb, was inducted as Chapter Honoree.

Posted By: Darcie Shinberger (
Office of University Communications & Marketing