University News

Call for Nominations for 2008 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer

February 8, 2007

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - - Western Illinois University's Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Selection Committee is seeking nominations for this prestigious award from the faculty, staff and students of University. Self-nominations also are welcome.

The Distinguished Faculty Lecturer (DFL) award is open to tenured full professors – who must be fulltime faculty at the time of the lecture – who have distinguished themselves in all areas of professional life: teaching, scholarly/creative activity and service, but most notably in the area of scholarly/creative activity. The nominee should be able to deliver a stimulating presentation on a topic of interest to a general audience at WIU-Macomb and WIU-Quad Cities. The person selected will deliver the Distinguished Faculty Lecture in Spring 2008, and will be recognized as part of the stage party at the Spring and Fall commencement ceremonies, Spring and Fall Honors Convocation and the New Student Convocation.

Letters of nomination should address the nominee's qualifications based on the above criteria. Send nominations to Paul Paccione, School of Music, 121 Browne Hall by the Friday, Feb. 23 deadline.

Nominees will subsequently be asked to submit the following:
1. A vita;
2. A one-page narrative summary of the proposed topic; and
3. Letters of support from two references, in addition to the nominator's letter. Supporting letters should address the nominee's scholarly/creative/professional activities, and should discuss the nominee's ability to present an effective and interesting lecture to a broad spectrum of the University community.

Deadline for submission of supporting materials to Paul Paccione, 121 Browne Hall, is Friday, March 23.

Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Committee members include Richard Anderson, biology; Martha Barclay, dietetics, fashion merchandising and hospitality; Eric Ginsberg, music; Paul Nollen, biological sciences emeritus; Mohammad Siddiqi, English and journalism; Tara Westerhold, economics; and Paccione, chair.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing