University News

School of Agriculture Establishes Board of Advisers

December 1, 2009

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL -- The Director of the School of Agriculture at Western Illinois University has announced the first board of advisers for the School of Agriculture (formerly known as the agriculture department). According to William Bailey, director of the School of Ag, the new board is comprised of 11 members, "selected for their knowledge and vision, and who will provide invaluable advice to faculty and students," he noted.

"It is vital that the education provided by the School of Agriculture at WIU reflects both the current and future needs of agriculture," Bailey added. "The School is fortunate these professionals have agreed to serve on the board. While they each are active individuals, they are willing to give their time to assist in the education of the future leaders of Illinois agriculture," he said.

The 11 board members include:

  • Phil Bradshaw, vice chairman, United Soybean Board, Griggsville (IL);
  • Ray Bunch, Citizens, a division of Morton Community Bank, Macomb;
  • Leon Corzine, former president, National Association of Corn Growers, Assumption (IL);
  • Peggy Young Drescher, City of Glen Ellyn, Glen Ellyn (IL);
  • Kevin Foreman, Crop Production Services, Galesburg (IL);
  • Steve German, Growmark, Bloomington (IL);
  • Rich Hollis, Rabobank, Columbia (IL);
  • Heather Hampton-Knodle, Filmore (IL);
  • Jason Kilburn, Monmouth High School, Avon (IL);
  • Mike McCully, Kraft Foods, Glenview (IL); and
  • Trevor Toland, Illinois Beef Association, Good Hope (IL).

"I'm honored to be asked to serve on the WIU School of Agriculture board of advisers," said Bunch, who is the senior vice president of commercial/ag loans at Citizens. "The School serves a vital role in our economy by preparing students for careers in agriculture."

The Board will have its first meeting in Macomb in early spring. For more information, contact Bailey at (309) 298-1080 or Visit Western's School of Agriculture online at

Posted By: Teresa Koltzenburg (
Office of University Communications & Marketing