University News

'13 DFL Nominations

February 8, 2012

Printer friendly version

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL -- The Distinguished Faculty Lecturer Selection Committee is soliciting nominations for the 2013 prestigious award from the faculty, staff and students of Western Illinois University. Self-nominations are welcome.

The award is open to tenured full professors who have distinguished themselves in all areas of professional life – teaching, scholarly/creative activity and service, but most notably in the area of scholarly/creative activity. The nominee, who must be fulltime faculty at the time the lecture is presented, should be able to deliver a stimulating presentation on a topic of interest to a general audience. The person selected will deliver the Distinguished Faculty Lecture in Spring 2013, and will be recognized as part of the stage party at the Spring and Fall Commencement ceremonies, Spring and Fall Honors Convocation and the New Student Convocation. The award recipient will present the lecture to the University and surrounding communities at the WIU-Macomb campus and at the WIU-Quad Cities campus.

Send letters of nomination addressing the nominee's qualifications to Michael Romano, biological sciences, Waggoner Hall 372, by the Friday, Feb. 24 deadline.

Each nominee will be asked to submit a vita, a one-page narrative summary of the proposed topic and its potential impact to a general audience and letters of support from two references, in addition to the nominator's letter. Supporting letters should address the nominee's scholarly, creative and professional activities, and discuss the nominee's ability to present an effective and interesting lecture to a broad spectrum of the University community. The deadline to submit supporting materials is March 23.

Western Illinois University has honored outstanding faculty for 43 years with an annual award, first named the Annual Faculty Lecturer and now known as the Distinguished Faculty Lecturer. In 1969, Victor Hicken of the history department presented "Swing of the Pendulum" as the inaugural Faculty Lecturer.

Members of the Distinguished Faculty Lecture Committee include Lori Baker-Sperry (women's studies), Christopher Merrett (IIRA), Richard Ness (broadcasting), Michael Romano (chair), Mandeep Singh (management and marketing), Bea Wehrly (counselor education emeritus) and Seung Won Yoon (instructional design and technology).

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing