University News

WIU CBT Announces Beta Gamma Sigma Invitations for 2012

March 2, 2012

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - The College of Business and Technology has announced the annual Beta Gamma Sigma invitation phase.

Membership in the Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS) business honorary is the highest recognition a business student can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International. BGS inductees are honored for their academic achievement and acknowledged as leaders who embody superior levels of personal and professional excellence.

Invitations for membership have been sent to 41 business majors in the WIU College of Business and Technology who have demonstrated academic excellence as the top 10 percent of their junior or senior class, or the upper 20 percent of MBA and master of accountancy programs.

Since 1988, WIU has recognized more than 500 of its students as inductees in the international honor society Beta Gamma Sigma. The WIU chapter is recognized as a chapter of distinction with the Beta Gamma Sigma Bronze Key in Stipes Hall.

"Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest honor a student can achieve throughout their academic business career," said John Drea, CBT associate dean and BGS chapter advisor. "These students are the best and the brightest in the nation, and we look forward to their membership as BGS initiates."

The following students have been invited to join Beta Gamma Sigma:
Juniors: (All students are from Illinois unless otherwise indicated.
Karl J. Alumbaugh, Monmouth
Danielle L. Balbach, Lena
Daniel Bidle, Virginia (MN)
Shelby A. Britton, Lombard
Mary K. Buss, Golden
Mitchell C. Crabtree, Dixon
Caleb J. Markey, Macomb
William J. Molinari, Peoria
Alexis A. Slater, Plymouth
Alex A. Stanley, Custer Park
Kelly A. Wyffels, Atkinson

Tara M. Brownlow, Macomb
Amy J. Byers, Ferris
Catherine M. Camfield, Ft. Madison (IA)
Nicole M. Echternkamp, Quincy
Quinten A. Frankel, Quincy
Brodie W. Houck, Macomb
Keith R. Long, Moline
William E. Lunt, Rochester
Catharina A.M. Meijer, Davenport (IA)
Jessica M. Milder, Davenport (IA)
Derek L. Schurch, Freeport
Kacey L. Swainey, Keokuk (IA)
Phillip L. Turner, Kewanee
Corey C. Whitcomb, East Moline

Graduate Students
James A. Beckman, Moline
Mary R. Fox, Burlington (IA)
Cory J. Gall, Burlington (IA)
Jennifer D. Harland, Davenport (IA)
Eric W. Kamenjarin, Naperville
Sarah E. Larson, Colona
Timothy D. Mohs, Bettendorf (IA)
Timothy W. Newcomb, Walcott
Julia Nie, of China
Stella Owusu Ansah, Dolton
Pamela J. Rands, Macomb
Brenna D. Saline, Galesburg
Brent A. Stevens, Davenport (IA)
Maureen Storm, Monmouth

2nd Recognition Certificates
Molly L. Dion, Carthage
Jordan Price, Galva

Kasing Man, professor, economics and decision sciences
Thomas Sadler, associate professor, economics and decision sciences

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing