University News

Board Grants Tenure

June 6, 2014

Printer friendly version

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL -- Thirty-two Western Illinois University faculty members were granted tenure by the WIU Board of Trustees at the Board's June 6 meeting.

Tenure requests were submitted by President Jack Thomas based on an extensive evaluation process at the department, college and University levels regarding the faculty member's teaching, research and service activities.

Faculty members granted tenure, effective August 2014, are: Panakkattu Babu, physics; Neil Baird, English and journalism; Davison Bideshi, sociology and anthropology; Ute Chamberlin, history; Marisol Garrido, foreign languages and literature; Everett Hamner, English and journalism; Timothy Helwig, English and journalism; Sue Hum-Musser, biological sciences; Fuyuan Liang, geography; Patrick McGinty, sociology and anthropology; Kevin Diehl, accountancy and finance; Denise Gravitt, engineering technology; Seongchan Kim, engineering technology; Charles Pryor, accountancy and finance; Carrie Alexander-Albritton, counselor education; Christine Anderson, curriculum and instruction; Andrea Hyde, educational and interdisciplinary studies; C. Gregg Jorgensen, curriculum and instruction; Deborah Lee, curriculum and instruction; Carol Longley, dietetics, fashion merchandising, and hospitality; Michael Lukkarinen, recreation, park, and tourism administration; Barry McCrary, law enforcement and justice administration; Debra Miretzky, educational and interdisciplinary studies; Vladimir Sergevnin, law enforcement and justice administration; Abha Singh, curriculum and instruction; Sharon Stevens, educational and interdisciplinary studies; Carol Webb, educational leadership; Stuart Yager, educational leadership; Richard Cangro, music; Tammy Killian, theatre and dance; Terry Rathje, art; and Ann Rowson Love, art.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing