University News

Top Business Students Invited to Join Beta Gamma Sigma

March 10, 2017

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - - The Western Illinois University College of Business and Technology has announced that 42 business students have been invited to join Beta Gamma Sigma (BGS), an honor society recognizing business excellence. Initiates will be recognized at a banquet and induction ceremony at 12:30 p.m. Sunday, April 2 in the University Union Lamoine Room.

Membership in the BGS business honorary is the highest recognition an undergraduate or graduate student can receive in a business program accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB) International.

To be invited to join, students must have demonstrated academic excellence as the top 10 percent of their sophomore, junior or senior classes, or the top 20 percent of the Master of Business Administration or Master of Accountancy programs.

Since 1988, WIU has recognized more than 500 students as inductees in the international honor society, and Western's chapter is recognized as a chapter of distinction with the BGS Bronze Key in Stipes Hall.

Students are listed below by county and state:

Quincy – Lauren Crear, junior, human resource management

Buda – Rene Geary, senior, accountancy

Bartlett – Emily Holmes, junior, accountancy
Palos Hills – Nathaniel Schaub, junior, finance

Lisle – Erica Hagen, sophomore, accountancy

Plymouth – Tucker Lee, sophomore, marketing

Abingdon – Zachary Glisan, sophomore, marketing

Libertyville – Kevin Cronin, sophomore, management

Macomb – Mary Rager, senior, accountancy; Rome Hamm, junior, finance

Peoria – Benjamin Fiddes, senior, supply chain management

Rock Island:
Coal Valley – Jacob Shulenberg, senior, supply chain management
East Moline – Jacob Zentz, sophomore, accountancy
Illinois City – Becky Taylor, senior, accountancy
Moline – Andrea McNall, senior, accountancy; Nicholas Rossa, senior, marketing; Hayley Reid, junior, supply chain management; Jacob Neill, junior, supply chain management; Stephanie Emery, senior, management
Rock Island – Amanda Rockhold, senior, accountancy; Paul Carlson, senior, accountancy
Silvis – Brady Alley, senior, management

Springfield – Nicholas Sanderlin, senior, supply chain management


Rushville – Jennifer Shepherd, sophomore, management

La Fayette – Nora Williams, senior, accountancy

Morton – Ashton Atkins, senior, accountancy

Monmouth – Justin McGuire, graduate student, business administration

Albany – Autumn Hutton, junior, accountancy; Susan Griffis, graduate student, accountancy
Sterling – Brayden Hemminger, sophomore, management

Other States
Bettendorf – Lisa Alter, senior, accountancy
Davenport – James Franceson, senior, accountancy
Marion – Jacob Bjornsen, junior, finance
Mediapolis – Douglas Edwards, graduate student, business administration
Wapello – Cassidee Dossett, senior, managment

Coon Rapids – Jamison Kozar, sophomore, management

Blue Springs – Mariah Peters, senior, accountancy

Menomonee Falls – Samantha Lehnen, sophomore, accountancy
New Berlin – Nathan Erickson, sophomore, supply chain management

Other Countries
China – Jiamian Deng, sophomore, accountancy
India – Anjan Kasireddy, graduate student, business administration
Russia – Maria Bessmertnaya, junior, accountancy

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing