University News

Moline Dispatch Annual "Master Teacher" Honors Seven Western Alumni

May 4, 2009

Printer friendly version

MACOMB/MOLINE, IL -- Seven of the 12 teachers named in this year's Moline Dispatch/Rock Island Argus "Master Teacher" program hold degrees from Western Illinois University. The 12 teachers will be honored Friday, May 8 at the 19th Annual Master Teacher Awards Banquet at the i wireless Center in Moline.

According to an April 12 Argus news story by Leon Lagerstam, the newspapers use "the program to salute the area's best educators." Nominees may be from public or private schools in Rock Island, Henry, Mercer or Whiteside counties in Illinois. In addition to the nomination form for the individual teachers, a minimum of four letters of support must be provided on each teacher's behalf to qualify for the honor.

The WIU alumni honored this year in the Master Teacher program include:

Nancy Bartscher, bachelor's degree, education, 1998; Hampton Elementary (Hampton, IL)

Pam Bischoff, master's degree, educational leadership, 2005; Rock Ridge High School (Taylor Ridge, IL)

Andy Campbell, master's degree, education, 2005; Rock Island High School (Rock Island, IL)

Kirk Humphreys, bachelor's degree, mathematics, 2001; Washington Junior High School (Rock Island, IL)

Jennifer Knuth, master's degree, education, 1991; Denkmann Elementary (Rock Island, IL)

Christine MacDonald, bachelor's degree, education, 1993; Thomas Jefferson Elementary (Milan, IL)

Brian Stahl, bachelor's degree, agriculture, 1983, and secondary education certificate, 1997; Geneso High School (Geneseo, IL)

Another individual who attended WIU, Teri Lynn Miller, was also named a Master Teacher this year. Miller teaches at Audubon Elementary in Rock Island (IL). She took graduate-level elementary and special education classes at Western from 1982-1995.

Posted By: Teresa Koltzenburg (
Office of University Communications & Marketing