University News

WIU Administrative Changes for Fall 2010

August 25, 2010

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL – Several changes across Western Illinois University's administrative levels have occurred over the summer. All appointments were effective July 1, unless otherwise noted.

In the Advancement and Public Services division, Brad Bainter was named vice president for advancement and public services, following a national search. He had been director of University development and planned giving at Western Illinois University since July 2009, and he had served as director of planned and major giving at Western since 1996.

College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) changes include Susan Martinelli-Fernandez named CAS dean, following a national search. She had served as interim dean since July 2009. She is a professor of philosophy, and has served as a faculty member in the philosophy and religious studies department since 1993.

James Schmidt was named associate dean for budget, planning and personnel. He was named assistant dean in 2000 and associate dean in 2004. Russ Morgan, who joined WIU's psychology faculty in 1997, was named interim associate dean for curriculum and student affairs. Mark Boley, who has served as interim chair of the physics department, was named chair of physics; and Keith Boeckelman, political science professor, is the interim chair of political science.

College of Business and Technology has reorganized several departments to contain administrative costs. This includes the following, as of Aug. 1: John Drea, management professor, has been appointed associate dean; and Jack Elfrink, associate dean, retains his administrative post and chairs the accountancy and finance departments. Kathleen Neumann is chair of the information systems and computer science departments. Gordan Rands is interim chair of the marketing and management departments. Tej Kaul is chair of the economics and decision sciences departments.

Changes within the College of Education and Human Services include: Terry Mors named interim director of the School of Law Enforcement and Justice Administration and Erskine Smith named associate dean for administration. Smith had been serving as the interim associate dean for administration since July 2009, and he had been chair of the dietetics, fashion merchandising and hospitality (DFMH) department since 2004. Janet Wigglesworth, former associate dean at the Ithaca College (Ithaca, NY) Graduate and Clinical Services, School of Health Sciences and Human Performance, is chair of the kinesiology department.

College of Fine Arts and Communication changes include Peter Jorgensen, communication professor, named interim chair of the communication department, effective August 1. Matt Thomas joins the School of Music as the associate director of bands in charge of the crowd-pleasing Marching Leathernecks, the Concert Band, University Band and Pep Band. He also will teach instrumental conducting and other courses within the undergraduate music education curriculum. Thomas earned his Ph.D. in music education from The Florida State University.

Robert Andersen, former senior associate director of the Office of Student Financial Aid at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, is director of the Western Illinois University Office of Financial Aid, effective June 1.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing