Provost & Academic Vice President

Academic Calendar 2024-2025

Fall Semester, 2024

  • August 19, Mon. -- Classes Begin
  • August 23, Fri. -- Open Registration Ends  (FL 2024)
  • August 26-30, Mon.-Fri. -- Restricted Registration  (FL 2024)
  • September 2, Mon. -- Labor Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • September 3, Tues. -- Classes Resume
  • October TBD, Fri. -- Fall Break -- No Classes
  • October TBD, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • October 27, Sun. -- Last Day to Drop Classes or Withdraw from the University
  • November 4, Mon. -- Advanced Registration Begins  (SP 2025)
  • November 15, Fri. -- Advanced Registration Ends  (SP 2025)
  • November 18, Mon. -- Open Registration Begins  (SP 2025)
  • November 25-27, Mon.-Wed. -- Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes
  • November 28-29, Thurs.-Fri. -- Holiday -- University Closed
  • December 2, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • December 9-13, Mon.-Fri. -- Final Exam Week
  • December 14, Sat. -- Commencement

Spring Semester, 2025

  • January 13, Mon. -- Classes Begin
  • January 17, Fri. -- Open Registration Ends  (SP 2025)
  • January 20, Mon. -- Dr. Martin Luther King Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • January 21, Tues. -- Classes Resume
  • January 21-27, Tues.-Mon. -- Restricted Registration  (SP 2025)
  • February 12, Wed. -- Lincoln's Birthday -- No Classes/University Closed
  • February 13, Thur. -- Classes Resume
  • March 10-14, Mon.-Fri. -- Spring Break -- No Classes
  • March 17, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • March 30, Sun. -- Last Day to Drop Classes or Withdraw from the University
  • April 1, Tues. -- Advanced Registration Begins  (SU/FL 2025)
  • April 11, Fri. -- Advanced Registration Ends  (SU/FL 2025)
  • April 14, Mon. -- Open Registration Begins  (SU/FL 2025)
  • May 5-9, Mon.-Fri. -- Final Exam Week
  • May 9, Fri. -- Graduate Commencement
  • May 10, Sat. -- Undergraduate Commencement
  • May 11, Sun. -- WIU-Quad Cities Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement

Summer Session, 2025

Summer session open registration, restricted registration, and withdrawal dates vary.  Check STARS Course Search for details.
 
  • May 12, Mon. -- Pre-Session Begins
  • May 26, Mon. -- Memorial Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • May 27, Tues. -- Pre-Session Classes Resume
  • May 30, Fri. -- Pre-Session Ends
  • June 2, Mon. -- 8-Week, 6-Week, and 1st 4-Week Sessions Begin
  • June 27, Fri. -- 1st 4-Week Session Ends
  • June 30, Mon. -- 2nd 4-Week Session Begins
  • July 4, Fri. -- Independence Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • July 7, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • July 11, Fri. -- 6-Week Session Ends
  • July 25, Fri. -- All Remaining Sessions End