Provost & Academic Vice President

Academic Calendar 2023-2024

Fall Semester, 2023

  • August 21, Mon. -- Classes Begin
  • August 25, Fri. -- Open Registration Ends  (FL 2023)
  • August 28 - September 1, Mon.-Fri. -- Restricted Registration  (FL 2023)
  • September 4, Mon. -- Labor Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • September 5, Tues. -- Classes Resume
  • October 13, Fri. -- Fall Break -- No Classes
  • October 16, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • October 29, Sun. -- Last Day to Drop Classes or Withdraw from the University
  • November 1, Wed. -- Advanced Registration Begins  (SP 2024)
  • November 10, Fri. -- Advanced Registration Ends  (SP 2024)
  • November 13, Mon. -- Open Registration Begins  (SP 2024)
  • November 20-22, Mon.-Wed. -- Thanksgiving Break -- No Classes
  • November 23-24, Thurs.-Fri. -- Holiday -- University Closed
  • November 27, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • December 11-15, Mon.-Fri. -- Final Exam Week
  • December 16, Sat. -- Commencement

Spring Semester, 2024

  • January 15, Mon. -- Dr. Martin Luther King Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • January 16, Tues. -- Classes Begin
  • January 22, Mon. -- Open Registration Ends  (SP 2024)
  • January 23-29, Tues.-Mon. -- Restricted Registration  (SP 2024)
  • February 12, Mon. -- Lincoln's Birthday -- No Classes/University Closed
  • February 13, Tues. -- Classes Resume
  • March 11-15, Mon.-Fri. -- Spring Break -- No Classes
  • March 18, Mon. -- Classes Resume
  • March 31, Sun. -- Last Day to Drop Classes or Withdraw from the University
  • April 1, Mon. -- Advanced Registration Begins  (SU/FL 2024)
  • April 12, Fri. -- Advanced Registration Ends  (SU/FL 2024)
  • April 15, Mon. -- Open Registration Begins  (SU/FL 2024)
  • May 6-10, Mon.-Fri. -- Final Exam Week
  • May 10, Fri. -- Graduate Commencement
  • May 11, Sat. -- Undergraduate Commencement
  • May 12, Sun. -- WIU-Quad Cities Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement

Summer Session, 2024

Summer session open registration, restricted registration, and withdrawal dates vary.  Check STARS Course Search for details.
 
  • May 13, Mon. -- Pre-Session Begins
  • May 27, Mon. -- Memorial Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • May 28, Tues. -- Pre-Session Classes Resume
  • May 31, Fri. -- Pre-Session Ends
  • June 3, Mon. -- 8-Week, 6-Week, and 1st 4-Week Sessions Begin
  • June 28, Fri. -- 1st 4-Week Session Ends
  • July 1, Mon. -- 2nd 4-Week Session Begins
  • July 4, Thur. -- Independence Day -- No Classes/University Closed
  • July 5, Fri. -- Classes Resume
  • July 12, Fri. -- 6-Week Session Ends
  • July 26, Fri. -- All Remaining Sessions End