College of Arts and Sciences

Spring 2017 Awards & Scholarships

The Department of English held its 2017 Awards Night on Thursday, April 20, 2017 at 6:00pm in the University Union Lamoine Room. Selected faculty announced the winners of awards from all areas of the program. 

Congratulations to all the award and scholarship winners! Click on each name to see a picture of each student receiving his/her award!

« Go back to Awards & Scholarships or Creative Writing Awards

Undergraduate Scholarships

  • Barbara & John Blackburn Scholarship – Emily Bryce Swain
  • Paul Blackford Scholarship in British Literature - Rebecca Graham
  • Olive Fite American Literature Scholarship – Arielle Henry
  • Irving Garwood Shakespeare Scholarship – Courtney Bender
  • Robert Hodges English Education Scholarship - Tess Tyler
  • Lila Linder English Scholarship - Shelby Davin
  • Karen Mann Essay Award in Literature and Film - Emily Bryce Swain
  • Alfred Lindsey Memorial Scholarship – Kirsten Dillender
  • John Merrett Scholarship in British Literature – Anna Teggatz
  • Nai-Tung Ting - Kelsey Renfro-Cline
  • Wanninger Foundation - Rebecca Graham
  • Beth M. Stiffler Scholarship – Tess Tyler
  • Scholar of the Year – Anna Teggatz

Graduate Awards

Honors College Scholarships (That English Students Won)

  • Rebecca Graham won the Cecile A. Christison Sterrett Award
  • Arielle Henry won the Martin Dupuis Leadership Award for Historically Under Represented Communities.
  • See the honors college newsletter highlighting the awards.

Bruce H. Leland Essay Contest

*Read their pieces on the Leland Webpage (2016-2017)

ENG 100, Introduction to Writing

  • 1st place – Daniel White
  • 2nd place – Margaret Voss
  • 3rd place – Andrea Przybylski

ENG 180, College Writing I

ENG 280, College Writing II

Creative Writing Awards

*Read their pieces in the yearly Elements edition (2017)

*See the Creative Writing Winners Archive which includes commentary by the professional judges.

Lois C. Bruner Creative Nonfiction Award

Cordell Larner Award in Fiction

Cordell Larner Award in Poetry