University News

WIU International Student Scholarships Recipients Announced

May 9, 2018

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL – The Western Illinois University Center for International Studies Scholarship Committee has announced the winners of its Fall 2018 scholarships.

This year's winners include:

The Redeemed Student Fellowship $200 Scholarship: Joseph Adesiyan, an applied statistics and decision analytics graduate student, from Nigeria.

The Bessie Meyers $400 scholarship:
Melissa O'Reilley, a communication and sciences disorders graduate student, from Canada.

The Francis and Peggy Davern International $425 Scholarship: Duangdalad Mondech, an economics graduate student, from Thailand.

The AAUW Macomb Branch Scholarship:
Laura Ballesteros Font, a sophomore psychology major from Spain.

The WEOG $500 Award recipients are:

- Nnaemeka Agunwa, a health sciences graduate student, from Nigeria.

- Alex Mvami Njeunje, a mathematics graduate student, from Cameroon.

- Paula Ramirez Fernandez, a senior music and psychology double major, from Colombia.

- Kadidia Samassekou, a chemistry graduate student, from Mali.

- Sormista das Tonni, a political science graduate student, from Bangladesh.

The Ruth Hughes $800 Scholarship: Kimberlyn Cranford, a communication and sciences disorders graduate student, from Canada.

The Dr. In Kon Kim $1,000 Scholarship: Dayoung Lim, an educational and interdisciplinary studies graduate student, from South Korea.

The Rodney and Bertha Fink $1,200 scholarship: Aminat Odusanya, a computer sciences graduate student, from Nigeria.

For more information about the WIU Center for International Studies, visit

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations