University News

Pictured, from left, are Terrance Black, Andrew Ball, Emily Kenney, Devin Brooks and Austin Pilger.
[Download Print-Quality Image]

WIU Students Win Multiple Awards in National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition

March 18, 2019

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL -- Students in the Western Illinois University Department of Broadcasting and Journalism won several awards at the 56th annual National Undergraduate Student Electronic Media Competition, held by the National Broadcasting Society (NBS). Additionally, WIU Assistant Professor Patrick Johnson won first place in the Academic Paper Category of the 2018-2019 NBS-AERho Professional and Alumni Production Competition.

Student grand prize awards include Outstanding Multi-Camera Direction (Emily Kenney, senior, of Farmington, IL), Rookie Member of the Year (Andrew Ball, freshman, of Bettendorf, IA), and the WIU chapter of NBS was awarded Most Improved Chapter. Students Kenney and Terrance Black (senior, South Holland, IL) were also inducted into AERho, the honor society of NBS.

WIU Broadcasting and Journalism students were nominated in 11 categories. Awards were presented during the NBS convention in Philadelphia, PA, March 9.

For more information about the WIU Department of Broadcasting and Journalism, visit

Posted By: WIU News (
Office of University Relations