University News

CAS Spring 2008 Awards Reception

April 24, 2008

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - - Western Illinois University's College of Arts and Sciences (CAS) will host its 2008 Spring Awards Reception beginning at 4 p.m. Friday, May 2 in the University Union Lamoine Room.

Hors d'oeuvres and a cash bar will be available, and music will be provided by the CAS faculty group "The Endnotes."

Faculty, student and Student Council awards will be presented beginning at 4:45 p.m.

Retiring faculty to be honored include Bill Combs, history professor, who came to Western in 1966; Ken Mietus, sociology professor, 1972; Polly Radosh, department of women's studies chairperson, 1984; Paula Wise, psychology professor, 1977; and Janna Haworth, English instructor, 2001.

Faculty awards will be presented to Amy Carr, associate professor in the philosophy and religious studies department, for teaching; Efrain Ferrer, physics professor, for research/scholarly activities; Matthew Blankenship, associate professor of psychology, for service; Heather McIlvaine-Newsad, associate professor of anthropology, for teaching with technology; Vincent Auger, professor of political science, for internationalization; Marjorie Allison, associate professor of English, for multicultural teaching; Michael Romano, professor of biological sciences, for undergraduate research throughout a career; and Lee Brice, history professor, for recent undergraduate research.

Senior political science major Julia Remes (Saint Paul, MN) will be recognized as the CAS Spring 2008 Cecile A. Christison Sterrett College Scholar.

Student Council Honorary Recognition Awards will be presented to senior English major Annette Glotfelty (O'Fallon, IL), humanities; senior psychology major Ray Serra (Silvis, IL), social sciences; and senior mathematics major Sarah Cane (Quincy, IL), mathematics and natural sciences.

The chemistry club will receive the Student Council Departmental Organization Award.

The awards reception is open to the campus community.

Posted By: Alisha Looney (
Office of University Communications & Marketing