University News

Excellence in Diversity Reception

May 4, 2011

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL -- Western Illinois University's 22nd annual Excellence in Diversity Awards Reception will be held from 4-6 p.m. Thursday, May 5 in the University Union Lamoine Room on the WIU-Macomb campus. Select groups and individuals will be recognized for Excellence in Diversity and Multicultural Leadership, and one individual will receive the 2011 Cathy O'Neill Couza Award for Outstanding Leadership in Diversity (formerly called the Equal Opportunity and Access Director's Award).

The reception is open to all members of the University's Macomb and Quad Cities communities. WIU Provost and President-Elect Jack Thomas will be this year's featured speaker.

The awards, which are presented by President Al Goldfarb, are designed to celebrate diversity and multicultural leadership efforts that have advanced Western's Strategic Plan, "Higher Values in Higher Education," increased diversity and created a campus climate that welcomes and supports all individuals. Awards are given based on the individual or unit's diverse multicultural activities, initiatives or goals and their implementation; how these activities increased awareness of, or sensitivity to, diversity and multiculturalism; and the results or benefits of how this activity, program or service goes above and beyond everyday job responsibilities.

Individuals receiving 2011 awards include:

Excellence in Education: Jo-Ann Morgan, associate professor of African American Studies; Alphonso Simpson, chair of African American Studies; Rachel Smith, instructor of recreation, park and tourism administration; Susan Stewart, associate professor of management and marketing, WIU-Quad Cities; Oswald Warner, associate professor of sociology and anthropology; and Beric Wessley, a junior psychology major from Macomb.

Excellence in Leadership: College of Arts and Sciences Dean Susan Martinelli-Fernandez and College of Arts and Sciences Associate Dean Russell Morgan.

For more information or to RSVP, contact the Office of Equal Opportunity and Access at (309) 298-1977.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing