2011 Honorary Alumni Award

Al Goldfarb

Western Illinois University presented the 2011 Western Illinois University Honorary Alumni Award to WIU President Al Goldfarb during the annual Town & Gown celebration April 8, hosted by the WIU Alumni Association.

Al GoldfarbThe Honorary Alumni Award is presented to an individual who is not a WIU graduate but who has provided exceptional service to the WIU community.

Goldfarb was named president in March 2002 by the WIU Board of Trustees, and began his duties July 1, 2002. During his tenure as president, he oversaw the creation of Western's Strategic Plan: Higher Values in Higher Education, the WIU-Macomb Master Plan: Campus is the Classroom, the WIU-QC Master Plan: Vision 2020 and the Technology Strategic Plan. He also oversaw the successful beginning of the University's comprehensive campaign, Set the Standard: Higher Values in Higher Education. Goldfarb was president during the approval of Western's first doctoral program in education, and new programs in liberal arts and sciences, nursing, engineering, museum studies, forensic chemistry and emergency management.

"Dr. Goldfarb's years of commitment and dedication not only to Western Illinois University, but to higher education, are extraordinary," said Amy Spelman, director of Alumni Relations. "It is with great pleasure that we award Dr. Goldfarb with the 2011 Honorary Alumni Award. For all that he's done for Western, we extend our greatest appreciation."

Under his leadership, the first building of the Quad Cities Riverfront Campus, and facilities such as the Multicultural Center, Grote Hall and the Document and Publications Services building were built, the Performing Arts Center planning is underway; and numerous renovations took place, including Memorial Hall, the student side of Hanson Field, the Donald S. Spencer Recreation Center expansion, the Wright House, the University Union Bookstore and the University Union entrance.Al Goldfarb & Mick Wisslead

During his nine years as president, the University has received numerous accolades for its achievements, including rankings and recognitions by The Princeton Review, U.S. News and World Report, GI Jobs, Carnegie Classification, the Presidential Honor Roll for Community Service, the Southern Regional Education Board and the Educational Trust. Goldfarb supported the creation of the First Year Experience program and the expansion of the cost guarantee program. During his tenure, Western received reaffirmation of accreditation from The North Central Association for Western Illinois University until 2021.

He has served in leadership roles in many organizations, including chair of the Summit League Presidents Council, as a convener of the Illinois Public University Presidents and Chancellors Council, as chair of Illinois Campus Compact, and as a member of the executive board of The Renaissance Group, and he currently serves as a member of the State of Illinois Serve Illinois Commission.

Goldfarb has been involved in community-related activities and programs in both Macomb and the Quad Cities, including the formation of Macomb's Community University Partnership Program (CUPP).

This is the 16th year for the WIU Honorary Alumni Award presentation. Previous recipients were Gil Belles (2010); Marion Blackinton (2010); Bob Anstine (2009); Jack Stites (2008); Bill Brattain (2007), Marilyn Johnson (2005); Donald Dexter (2004); Mark Martin (2003); Mel and Judy Kerr (2002); Charlene Callison (2001); Ed Holzwarth (2000); Donald S. Spencer (1999); Laura Kent Donahue (1998); Cathy Early (1997); Dick Miller (1995) and Dennis Iversen (1994).

Alumni Award recipients

Alumni Award recipients at Town & Gown 2011