2023 Honorary Alumni Award

steveSteve Silberer

Silberer is a Macomb native, a WIU alumnus and a lifetime supporter of WIU. He began his career as an electrician and then bought and established the Macomb Dining Company. He received his real estate license in 1997 and broker's license in 2000, and he is currently a broker with Century 21 Purdum-Epperson, Inc. He has been active in the real estate field and is a multi-million dollar producer. He is a graduate of the REALTORY institute, holds the GRI designation and has earned many Illinois Association of Realtor awards.

Silberer has attended nearly 70 alumni and friends events, including many outside of Macomb. He has supported the WIU Alumni Association's Leatherneck Legacy program, served on the PAS Board and been a longtime member of the WIU Athletics Leatherneck Club. He was also a member of the Performing Arts Society (PAS).

"He is a familiar face at numerous WIU events. He is always in the front row at basketball games, cheering the Leathernecks on. He is an avid supporter of many causes that are important to WIU and in our community," a nominator said.

Another added, "I can't think of anyone more deserving or qualified for this honor."

The Honorary Alumni Award is presented to an individual who is not a WIU graduate but who has provided exceptional service to the WIU community. Previous recipients include Tate Lindahl (posthumously, 2022); Bill Howard (2021); Dr. Kenneth Wright (2019); LaVern McEntire (2018); C. Don Weston (posthumously, 2017); Jeff Mabrey (2016); Garry Johnson (2015); John Biernbaum (2014); Dan O'Neill (2013); Lisa Ward (2012); Al Goldfarb (2011); Gil Belles and Marion Blackinton (2010); Bob Anstine (2009); Jack Stites (2008); Bill Brattain (2007), Marilyn Johnson (2005); Donald Dexter (2004); Mark Martin (2003); Mel and Judy Kerr (2002); Charlene Callison (2001); Ed Holzwarth (2000); Donald S. Spencer (1999); Laura Kent Donahue (1998); Cathy Early (1997); Dick Miller (1995) and Dennis Iversen (1994).