2023 Town & Gown Award

jessicaJessica Butcher

Butcher began at WIU in July 1998 as a residence hall director in Auxiliary Facilities Systems. In July 2005, she was promoted to assistant director of Student Development and Orientation, and in July 2010, she was promoted to assistant to the vice president for Student Services. In December 2018, she transitioned to her current position. Additionally, she has taught University 100 through WIU's First Year Experience since 2014. She was instrumental in the University's response to COVID-19 and was recognized nationally for her work during the pandemic. Butcher has received both the Council of Administrative Personnel and Civil Service Employee of the Year Awards and has served on or chaired numerous campus committees.

"She is the kind of person every community longs for. She loves WIU, and she loves Macomb. I'm convinced that she wakes up every day thinking about how she can help make both better and stronger. Her years of involvement tell the real story," a nominator said.

Butcher grew up in Cuba, IL. She received her master's degree at WIU, worked for two years at the University of Illinois, returned to her alma mater in 1998 and has worked in the Division of Student Services since then. In the community, she co-facilitated the Macomb Business Academy and served as a Chamber Ambassador, community prayer breakfast committee member, Wesley Village development board member, WIU Wesley Foundation board member, brownie troop leader, Macomb Country Club board member and volunteer at St. Paul School and church. She received the Chamber's Chairman's Award.

The Town & Gown Award is presented to an individual who has provided exceptional service in continuing the partnership between WIU and the Macomb Community. Previous recipients of the Town & Gown Award include John Hallwas (2022); Jeremy Robinett (2021); Stan Clayton (2019), Joe Roselieb (2018), Duke Oursler (2017); John Nelson (2016), Tom Claudon (2015), Todd Lester (2014), Bill Howard (2013), Tom Carper (2012), Mick Wisslead (2011), Lin Stults (2010), Jerry Cremer (2009), John Maguire (2008) and Charles Gilbert (2007).