University News

WIU College of Arts and Sciences Announces Recent Honors, Appointments, Retirements

May 19, 2000

Share |
Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - Western Illinois University's College of Arts and Sciences recognized students, faculty and staff at the end of the spring semester, and recently announced new appointments within the college.

Student Council Honorary Recognition Awards were presented to seniors in three disciplines: Cheryl Miller, a senior English major from Macomb, was the humanities award recipient; Angel Chan, a senior chemistry and microbiology major from Skokie, was the natural sciences and mathematics recipient; and Carla Ainslie, a senior political science major from Macomb, was the social sciences award recipient.

The 1999-2000 Civil Service Award was presented to Carol Skiles, sociology and anthropology department secretary.

Three professors were named recipients of the annual Outstanding Faculty Awards. They include English and journalism associate professor Joan Livingston-Webber for teaching, chemistry professor and chair Netkal Made Gowda for research, and psychology professor Virginia Diehl for service.

New appointments in the college include Jim Schmidt, associate professor in psychology, being named assistant dean; Janice Welsch, English and journalism professor, being named college coordinator of multicultural education and interdisciplinary minors; Deborah Beyer, foreign languages and literature associate professor, being named the college coordinator for teacher education.

Additionally, the College of Arts and Sciences recently honored six retirees. They include Nicholas C. Pano, College of Arts and Sciences associate dean and history professor, 37 years of service at WIU; David Hess, geology professor, 34 years; Sharon Schisler, Journal of Developing Areas secretary, 33 years; Jean Ellickson, sociology and anthropology professor, 29 years; Gordon Kirk, history professor, 28 years; and Lois Shane, social work associate professor and chair, 10 years.

Social work Professor Michael Fimmen will serve in Shane's place as acting chair beginning July 1. A national search will be held for the social work chair position.

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing