University News

2017 Orientation Team
[Download Print-Quality Image]

2017 Admissions Orientation Team Announced

April 19, 2017

Printer friendly version

MACOMB, IL - - Western Illinois University's Undergraduate Admissions has announced the 2017 Orientation Team and a new Summer Orientation and Registration (SOAR) schedule.

The Orientation Team is a select group of student leaders who have demonstrated strong leadership and positive experiences at WIU through involvement in academic programs, clubs and organizations, as well as in the community. These students serve as positive role models and group facilitators, and they assist incoming students and their families throughout the year with orientation programs.

Most importantly, the Orientation Team members serve as ambassadors, aiding new students in their college transition to WIU. It is the Orientation Team's goal to help new students and their families connect the pieces to becoming a Leatherneck at WIU.

Students named to this year's team include (listed by hometown):

CHICAGO: Jerry Morales, junior, mathematics major

CHILLICOTHE: Arieyll Boling, sophomore, law enforcement and justice administration (LEJA) major

LISLE: Kyle Sealey, senior, history major

LITCHFIELD: Matthew Zumwalt, junior, geography major

MACOMB: Brook Bloomer, senior, chemistry major and student team coordinator; Joshua Cook, sophomore, accountancy major; Dalton Mann, sophomore, accountancy major

MECHANICSBURG: Derek Lahey, sophomore, supply chain management major

NEW LENOX: Dominique Coleman, senior, psychology major

PEORIA: Mar'Tasia Williams, sophomore, finance major

POPLAR GROVE: Shelby Mech, sophomore, undeclared major

RIVERDALE: Jackson Russel, senior, nursing major

WOODRIDGE: Emily Eumana, sophomore, LEJA major

WOODSTOCK: Zach Stone, junior, sports broadcasting major

CLINTON: Rebecca Shaw, junior, history major

This year's SOAR programs will begin at 2 p.m. on the first day of each program. For more information and a tentative schedule, visit

Posted By: University Communications (
Office of University Communications & Marketing